Free Kindle books & bargains for Wednesday, August 15, 2018

River Bones (Sara Mason Mysteries Book 1)

Thrillers & Suspense
Author: Mary Deal
FREE

River Bones (Sara Mason Mysteries Book 1)

When Sara Mason returns to her hometown to start a new life, she learns that a serial killer is terrorizing its residents. Despite battling the memory of the deaths of her younger sister and alcoholic parents, Sara is determined to make peace with her past.

However, she soon learns that the elusive psychopath is now stalking her. Sara’s attempt to rebuild her life is hindered even more by the discovery of skeletal remains on her property. As the investigation focuses on several suspects, Sara discovers critical clues and bravely volunteers to be a decoy for the sheriff’s department.

Devil’s Hand (Drawing Thin Book 1)

Fantasy > Paranormal & Urban
Author: M. E. Patterson
FREE

Devil's Hand (Drawing Thin Book 1)

A Las Vegas poker ace with supernatural luck is swept into a world-ending conflict between fallen angels and otherworldly shades, in a thrilling debut novel for readers who enjoy Dean Koontz, Jim Butcher, and Tim Powers.

The lone survivor of a tragic plane crash, Trent Hawkins inherited a mysterious lucky streak that made him famous, and hated, in the poker circles of the City of Sin. It wasn’t long before the eyes in the sky threw him on the blacklist and chased him out of town. Now, after years away, Trent returns to Las Vegas, and walks right back into trouble.

The Poker Joke Book

Humor & Entertainment
Author: Ashton Cartwright
FREE

The Poker Joke Book

Ah poker!

Surely there is no more ridiculous pastime in which otherwise sensible adults amuse and abuse themselves.

The thrill of the cards, the joy of the win, the despair of the loss, and the complaining of the bad beat . . . all of which make poker such a thoroughly exciting and dynamic dance of silliness.

Some people take poker rather seriously however, and those people are often the most unintentionally hilarious of all.

Faith in Love (Arden’s Glen Romance Book 1)

Romance > Contemporary
Author: C.M. Albert, Erin Servais
FREE

Faith in Love (Arden's Glen Romance Book 1)

Full of grief and jaded by love, corporate philanthropist Egan MacGuire is given two options by his boss: take a leave of absence or kiss his job goodbye. A road trip with a friend is just the distraction Egan needs to figure out how to get his life back on track.

Celeste St. Angelo left the bright lights and big city for the mountains of North Carolina to open the next phase of her flourishing Angel Therapy business, a healing and wellness center. With the grand opening looming she has no time for distractions, especially love.

The Obscure Duchess of Godwin Hall: A Historical Regency Romance Novel

Historical Romance > Regency
Author: Hanna Hamilton
FREE

The Obscure Duchess of Godwin Hall: A Historical Regency Romance Novel

When the late Duke of Leinster suddenly dies, Rebecca Winterson finds herself trapped in the most terrible marriage of convenience with the most unsuitable partner she could have ever hoped for – her unpleasant and egocentric childhood friend and now the new Duke, Charles Godwin.

Not only does she see him as a friend but she is also madly in love with his brother Andrew who, torn between duty and the strongest feelings of love for his dazzling friend Rebecca, watches his life quickly fall apart.

Gone The Next (Roy Ballard Mysteries Book 1)

Mystery > Private Investigators
Author: Ben Rehder
FREE

Gone The Next (Roy Ballard Mysteries Book 1)

Meet Roy Ballard, freelance videographer with a knack for catching insurance cheats. He’s working a routine case, complete with hours of tedious surveillance, when he sees something that shakes him to the core. There, with the subject, is a little blond girl wearing a pink top and denim shorts—the same outfit worn by Tracy Turner, a six-year-old abducted the day before. When the police are skeptical of Ballard’s report—and with his history, who can blame them?—it’s the beginning of the most important case of his life.

Sea of Shadows

Fiction > Military
Author: Jeff Edwards
Regularly $4.99, Today $0.99

Sea of Shadows

A minor accident at a German nuclear power plant, a Biological Warfare attack on the British Embassy in Washington, DC, and a secret arms deal combine to drive a trusted NATO Ally into an illegal alliance with a rogue Middle Eastern state. With the world hovering on the brink of war, a handful of U.S. Navy warships must track down and destroy a wolfpack of state-of-the-art submarines.

Their enemy is skilled in deception, and incredibly lethal. Out-gunned, out-maneuvered, and out-thought, the U.S. Navy crews must throw the rulebook out the window, and become every bit as devious and deadly as their enemy. If they fail, the consequences are unthinkable…

Helter Skelter: The True Story of the Manson Murders

True Crime > Serial Killers
Author: Vincent Bugliosi, Curt Gentry
Regularly $10.99, Today $2.99

Helter Skelter: The True Story of the Manson Murders

In the summer of 1969, in Los Angeles, a series of brutal, seemingly random murders captured headlines across America. A famous actress (and her unborn child), an heiress to a coffee fortune, a supermarket owner and his wife were among the seven victims. A thin trail of circumstances eventually tied the Tate-LeBianca murders to Charles Manson, a would-be pop singer of small talent living in the desert with his “family” of devoted young women and men. What was his hold over them? And what was the motivation behind such savagery? In the public imagination, over time, the case assumed the proportions of myth. The murders marked the end of the sixties and became an immediate symbol of the dark underside of that era.

Season to Taste: How I Lost My Sense of Smell and Found My Way

Biographies & Memoirs
Author: Molly Birnbaum
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99

Season to Taste: How I Lost My Sense of Smell and Found My Way

Season to Taste is an aspiring chef’s moving account of finding her way—in the kitchen and beyond—after a tragic accident destroys her sense of smell. Molly Birnbaum’s remarkable story—written with the good cheer and great charm of popular food writers Laurie Colwin and Ruth Reichl—is destined to stand alongside Julie Powell’s Julie and Juliaas a classic tale of a cooking life. Season to Taste is sad, funny, joyous, and inspiring.

The Direct Mail Solution: A Business Owner’s Guide to Building a Lead-Generating, Sales-Driving, Money-Making Direct-Mail Campaign

Entrepreneurship & Small Business
Author: Craig Simpson, Dan S. Kennedy
Regularly $17.99, Today $2.99

The Direct Mail Solution: A Business Owner's Guide to Building a Lead-Generating, Sales-Driving, Money-Making Direct-Mail Campaign

Reported in 2013 as the marketing channel that “delivers the best ROI for customer acquisition and retention” by Target Marketing’s Seventh Annual Media Usage Forecast survey of B2C, direct mail is surprisingly outdated and under-represented on the marketing bookshelves for small business owners — authors Simpson and Kennedy change that. Millionaire-maker Dan S. Kennedy and direct mail marketing specialist Craig Simpson urge small business owners to drive the momentum built via social media and other marketing avenues into the mailboxes of their target consumers. Unlike other direct mail marketing books on the shelf that specialize in one aspect of preparing a campaign such as copywriting or design, this comprehensive solution covers all the organizational, technical, and creative including designing, budgeting, tracking, and assessing effectiveness. Also covered is how direct mail can be used in today’s online marketing funnels.

Together Tea

Genre Fiction > Historical > Cultural Heritage
Author: Marjan Kamali
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99

Together Tea

In Together Tea, Marjan Kamali’s delightful and heartwarming debut novel, Darya has discovered the perfect gift for her daughter’s twenty-fifth birthday: an ideal husband. Mina, however, is fed up with her mother’s years of endless matchmaking and the spreadsheets grading available Iranian-American bachelors. Having spent her childhood in Tehran and the rest of her life in New York City, Mina has experienced cultural clashes firsthand, but she’s learning that the greatest clashes sometimes happen at home.

After a last ill-fated attempt at matchmaking, mother and daughter embark on a return journey to Iran. Immersed once again in Persian culture, the two women gradually begin to understand each other.

However Long the Night: Molly Melching’s Journey to Help Millions of African Women and Girls Triumph

Sociology > Medicine
Author: Aimee Molloy
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99

However Long the Night: Molly Melching's Journey to Help Millions of African Women and Girls Triumph

In However Long the Night, Aimee Molloy tells the unlikely and inspiring story of Molly Melching, an American woman whose experience as an exchange student in Senegal led her to found Tostan and dedicate almost four decades of her life to the girls and women of Africa.

This moving biography details Melching’s beginnings at the University of Dakar and follows her journey of 40 years in Africa, where she became a social entrepreneur and one of humanity’s strongest voices for the rights of girls and women.

Every Tongue Got to Confess: Negro Folk-tales from the Gulf States

Anthropology > Cultural
Author: Zora Neale Hurston
Regularly $2.99, Today $0.99

Every Tongue Got to Confess: Negro Folk-tales from the Gulf States

Every Tongue Got to Confess is an extensive volume of African American folklore that Zora Neale Hurston collected on her travels through the Gulf States in the late 1920s.The bittersweet and often hilarious tales — which range from longer narratives about God, the Devil, white folk, and mistaken identity to witty one-liners — reveal attitudes about faith, love, family, slavery, race, and community. Together, this collection of nearly 500 folktales weaves a vibrant tapestry that celebrates African American life in the rural South and represents a major part of Zora Neale Hurston’s literary legacy.

Main Street Entrepreneur: Build Your Dream Company Doing What You Love Where You Live

Small Business & Entrepreneurship
Author: Michael Glauser
Regularly $24.99, Today $2.99

Main Street Entrepreneur: Build Your Dream Company Doing What You Love Where You Live

100 Cities. 100 Entrepreneurs. 9 Keys for Success.

Main Street Entrepreneur offers a unique look at what it takes to create a successful and thriving business. Lifelong entrepreneur, business consultant and university professor Michael Glauser rode 4,005 miles in 45 days, spent 246 hours on a bike seat, climbed 165,748 vertical feet, and interviewed more than 100 entrepreneurs in 100 cities along the way to discover the secrets to entrepreneurial success.

… See the rest of today ‘s Book Picks here on page 2Free Kindle books & bargains for Monday, June 18, 2018Page 2