Free Kindle book editor’s picks: C.S. Lewis edition

Clive Staples Lewis (1898 – 1963), commonly called C. S. Lewis and known to his friends and family as “Jack”, was a novelist, poet, academic, medievalist, literary critic, essayist, lay theologian, and Christian apologist. A new biography of Lewis tops today’s Buffet.

lewisBorn in Belfast, Ireland, Lewis is best known both for his fictional work, especially The Screwtape Letters, The Chronicles of Narnia, and The Space Trilogy, and for his non-fiction Christian apologetics, such as Mere Christianity, Miracles, and The Problem of Pain.

Lewis and fellow novelist J. R. R. Tolkien were close friends. Both authors served on the English faculty at Oxford University, and both were active in the informal Oxford literary group known as the “Inklings”.

As usual, each book listed here has gone FREE within the past 24 hours (except for the “Kindle Daily Deals” on page 3). Warning: Kindle book promotions can end without notice, so before downloading click the link “See Kindle price at Amazon” to verify that the book is still free. (Prices and availability may differ outside USA.)

C.S. Lewis: A Life Inspired

Biographies & Memoirs > Authors
Author: Christopher Gordon
C.S. Lewis: A Life Inspired

A man of reason and vigorous discourse, and a renowned professor of literature and philosophy, C.S. Lewis, always “Jack” to family and friends, never shied from intellectual debate, and through his written works encouraged others to wrestle with the difficult questions of faith.

A master of visual illustration and allegory, Lewis wrote with the intuitive understanding that his readers wrestled with the same questions about the Christian story, about pain, suffering, and notions of Heaven and Hell, as he himself had wrestled. He also understood that others found reason and imagination to be incompatible aspects of an understanding of God and the universe.


Dying for a Living (A Jesse Sullivan Novel)

Science Fiction > Alternative History
Author: Kory M. Shrum
Dying for a Living (A Jesse Sullivan Novel)

On the morning before her 67th death, it is business as usual for Jesse Sullivan: meet with the mortician, counsel soon-to-be-dead clients, and have coffee while reading the latest regeneration theory. Jesse dies for a living, literally. As a Necronite, she is one of the population’s rare 2% who can serve as a death replacement agent, dying so others don’t have to. Although each death is different, the result is the same: a life is saved, and Jesse resurrects days later with sore muscles, new scars, and another hole in her memory.

But when Jesse is murdered and becomes the sole suspect in a federal investigation, more than her freedom and sanity are at stake. She must catch the killer herself—or die trying.

At God’s Mercy (A Historical Mystery)

Mystery > Historical
Author: L. L. Fine, Julie Phelps
At God's Mercy (A Historical Mystery)

Poland, World War II. A desperate young Jewish woman sacrifices her life to save her baby twins. Decades later, in New York, Rabbi Jeremiah Neumann discovers the existence of his long lost twin. He rushes headlong to meet him – but is shocked to discover that his identical twin is a priest.

The two brothers travel to Poland to find out who they truly are. Page by page they uncover the terrible secret of their bloodcurdling heritage. A long-dormant evil is resurrected, and once again threatens to take the twins’ lives. Will they survive the new storm?

Got Your Number

Mystery > Romantic Comedy
Author: Stephanie Bond
Got Your Number (a humorous romantic mystery)

When two cousins hit the road (one woman is a reluctant witness to a crime, one woman was just jilted at the altar), they decide to tackle items on the Life Lists they created in college.  Fun, sex, and murder ensue!

Living Lies (Agent Ward Novels)

Romantic Comedy
Author: Kate Mathis
Living Lies (Agent Ward Novels)

Meet secret agent Melanie Ward, who quits the spy game, after 10 years, when a justly earned promotion is snatched away by her nemesis, the arrogant and smug, Son-of-a-Senator

Halo (Blood and Fire Series)

Science Fiction > Dystopian
Author: Frankie Rose
Halo (Blood and Fire Series (A Young Adult Dystopian Series))

When a newly named Kit escapes the Sanctuary after killing her best friend, the last thing she needs is another knife in her hand. Or Ryka, the damaged, beautiful blond boy, whom she refuses to let save her. The sights and sounds of Freetown are new, yet one thing is familiar: the matches. The only difference? Where the blood in the Sanctuary landed only on the Colosseum floor, Kit will quickly learn that a river of red runs through Freetown’s very streets.

Without her halo, the inhabitants of Kit’s new home consider her saved, but is that really the case? The reality of her old life is paralyzing. Would she be better off free of the guilt associated with all the blood on her hands, or is the love of one boy worth living through all the pain?

Adventures of Cash Laramie and Gideon Miles Vol. II

Crime Fiction > Noir
Author: Edward A. Grainger
Adventures of Cash Laramie and Gideon Miles Vol. II (Cash Laramie & Gideon Miles Series)

Adventures of Cash Laramie and Gideon Miles Vol. II continues to chronicle the tales of two unorthodox 19th century U.S. Marshals. With seven more adventures, this collection includes the novella “Origin of White Deer” where the outlaw marshal leaves his Arapaho home as a teen to find his roots in the lawless town of Cheyenne, Wyoming. These noir tales infuse the Western genre with a fresh perspective on topics like race relations and social justice while still delivering pulse-racing action in the tradition of Wanted: Dead or Alive and Gunsmoke.

Graveyard Shift (Lana Harvey, Reapers Inc.)

Fantasy > Paranormal & Urban
Author: Angela Roquet
Graveyard Shift (Lana Harvey, Reapers Inc.)

The Inferno has Evolved… Lana Harvey is a reaper, and a lousy one at that. She resides in Limbo City, the modern capital of the collective afterlives, where she likes to stick it to the man (the legendary Grim Reaper himself) by harvesting the bare minimum of souls required of her. She’d much rather be hanging out with Gabriel, her favorite archangel, at Purgatory Lounge. But when a shocking promotion falls in her lap, Lana learns something that could unravel the very fabric of Eternity. If the job isn’t completed, there could be some real hell to pay.

TODAY’S BARGAINS……………What’s this?

House of Bathory

Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
Author: Linda Lafferty
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99
House of Bathory

In the early 1600s, Elizabeth Báthory, the infamous Blood Countess, ruled Čachtice Castle in the hinterlands of Slovakia. During bizarre nightly rites, she tortured and killed the young women she had taken on as servants. A devil, a demon, the terror of Royal Hungary—she bathed in their blood to preserve her own youth.
400 years later, echoes of the Countess’s legendary brutality reach Aspen, Colorado.

Betsy Path, a psychoanalyst of uncommon intuition, has a breakthrough with sullen teenager Daisy Hart. Together, they are haunted by the past, as they struggle to understand its imprint upon the present. Betsy and her troubled but perceptive patient learn the truth: the curse of the House of Bathory lives still and has the power to do evil even now.

Saga, Vol. 1

Graphic Novels > Fantasy
Author: Brian K. Vaughan, Fiona Staples
Regularly $9.99, Today $4.99
Saga, Vol. 1

The sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the worlds. When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe. Fantasy and science fiction are wed like never before in a sexy, subversive drama for adults. This specially priced volume collects the first arc of the smash hit series The Onion A.V. Club calls “the emotional epic Hollywood wishes it could make.”

Collects SAGA #1-6

The Group: A Novel (Open Road)

Author: Mary McCarthy
Regularly $14.99, Today $2.51
The Group: A Novel (Open Road)

Mary McCarthy’s bold and brilliant bestselling novel about the lives of eight upper-middle-class friends—an unabashed look at marriage, motherhood, career, and sexuality for women in interwar America.

At Vassar, they were known as “the group”—eight young women of privilege, the closest of friends, an eclectic mix of vibrant personalities. A week after graduation in 1933, they all gather for the wedding of Kay Strong, one of their own, before going their separate ways in the world. In the years that follow, they will each know accomplishment and loss in equal measure, pursuing careers and marriage, experiencing the joys and traumas of sexual awakening and motherhood, all while suffering through betrayals, infidelities, and sometimes madness. Some of them will drift apart. Some will play important roles in the personal dramas of others. But it is tragedy that will ultimately unite the group once again.

How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets

Humor & Satire
Author: Garth Stein
Regularly $2.99, Today $2.09
How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets

Evan had a hit single, but that was ten years ago. Thirty-one now, he’s drifting, playing in a local band and teaching middle-aged men to coax music from an electric guitar.

Beset at a young age with a life-threatening form of epilepsy, he’s kept his condition a secret. But his deepest secret is that he got his high school sweetheart pregnant. Then her conservative parents whisked her out of Seattle and out of Evan’s life.

Now, fourteen years later, he experiences unplanned parenthood when he undertakes to raise the resentful teenage son he’s never known.

Off beat and disarming, How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets portrays a contemporary American family with unfailing honesty.

The Dog Listener: Learning the Language of your Best Friend

Biological Sciences > Zoology
Author: Jan Fennell, Monty Roberts
Regularly $9.99, Today $1.99
The Dog Listener: Learning the Language of your Best Friend

You’ve heard of the Horse Whisperer – now meet the woman who uses similar methods to train dogs.

Jan Fennell’s remarkable gifts have earned her the nickname “the dog listener”. Her unique understanding of the canine world and its instinctive language has enabled her to bring even the most desperate and delinquent of dogs to heel.

This easy-to-follow guide to understanding Jan’s simple techniques draws on her countless case histories of problem dogs – from biters and barkers to bicycle chasers – to show how we can bridge the language barrier that separates man from his best friend.

In The Dog Listener Jan shares her secrets, telling us how she grew determined to find a more compassionate alternative to standard “obedience” training techniques and ultimately how to communicate with canines.

… See the rest of today’s Editor’s Picks here on page 2

PAGE 2



space