Free Kindle books & bargains for Tuesday, May 22, 2018

A Honeybun and Coffee: Romantic Suspense with a Taste of Mystery (Honeybun Heat Book 1)

 Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
Author: Sam Cheever
FREE

A Honeybun and Coffee: Romantic Suspense with a Taste of Mystery (Honeybun Heat Book 1)

It was a Good Samaritan thing gone horribly wrong.

She heard two men talking about killing some poor guy named Alastair. She only wanted to warn him–to save his life–but she soon found herself embroiled in his mess.

He might be drop dead gorgeous. She might be forming a real attachment to his dog. But is any man worth this?

Running for her life with a truly delicious hero, the help of his seven equally yummy brothers and one adorable dachshund named Jaws?

Okay, maybe he is worth it.

Second Chances

  Romance > Lesbian Romance
Author: MJ Duncan
FREE

Second Chances

Charlie Bennett is a rising star in the world of sports journalism, but her personal life is a mess. Still hung up on her college sweetheart, a one-night-stand gone wrong convinces her that she needs to make a change. An offer for a one-year guest lecturer position from a small private university provides her the opportunity she needs to escape, and she jumps at it. All Charlie expected to find when she left Manhattan for rural New Hampshire was a little peace. Instead, she finds Mackayla Thomas. Eight years have passed since Charlie foolishly walked away from Mackayla, and Mackayla is determined to never let anyone hurt her that way again. For Charlie, their serendipitous meeting is a sign that happily ever after might finally be within her reach. First, however, she needs to find a way to convince Mackayla to let the past go, and to give her a second chance.

Liliana’s Letter: The Matchmaker meets the Matchbreaker, a Regency Romance

  Historical Romance > Regency
Author: Alina K. Field
FREE

Liliana's Letter: The Matchmaker meets the Matchbreaker, a Regency Romance

The Matchmaker
A promise to his long-dead sister forces Lord Grigsby back into society to broker the marriage of his disreputable nephew to the heiress whose money can save the earldom.

The Matchbreaker
Liliana Ashford has been hired to help an heiress pass muster with the ton and snare a titled husband. Though, if she had a magic wand, she’d turn her charge’s fiancé back into the toad he truly was.

The Bends: Kane Montgomery #1

  Suspense > Occult
Author: Bart Hopkins
FREE

The Bends: Kane Montgomery #1

Marathon is a quiet little Texas town, and it’s getting quieter. Kids are vanishing, disappearing like tumbleweeds in the desert wind.

Somebody—or something—is taking them.

Action. Adventure. Romance. Suspense. The Bends is a supernatural thriller rollercoaster ride!

Recommended for Fans of Blake Crouch, Stephen King, J.A. Konrath, and Dean Koontz

The Illusionist’s Apprentice

 Christian > Romance > Historical
Author: Kristy Cambron
Regularly $8.99, Today $1.99

The Illusionist's Apprentice

Harry Houdini’s one-time apprentice holds fantastic secrets about the greatest illusionist in the world. But someone wants to claim them . . . or silence her before she can reveal them on her own.

Boston, 1926. Jenny “Wren” Lockhart is a bold eccentric–even for a female vaudevillian. As notorious for her inherited wealth and gentleman’s dress as she is for her unsavory upbringing in the back halls of a vaudeville theater, Wren lives in a world that challenges all manner of conventions.

In the months following Houdini’s death, Wren is drawn into a web of mystery surrounding a spiritualist by the name of Horace Stapleton, a man defamed by Houdini’s ardent debunking of fraudulent mystics in the years leading up to his death. But in a public illusion that goes terribly wrong, one man is dead and another stands charged with his murder.

Rebecca

  Fiction > Classics > Romance
Author: Daphne du Maurier
Regularly $5.99, Today $2.99

Rebecca

Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again . . .

The novel begins in Monte Carlo, where our heroine is swept off her feet by the dashing widower Maxim de Winter and his sudden proposal of marriage. Orphaned and working as a lady’s maid, she can barely believe her luck. It is only when they arrive at his massive country estate that she realizes how large a shadow his late wife will cast over their lives–presenting her with a lingering evil that threatens to destroy their marriage from beyond the grave.

First published in 1938, this classic gothic novel is such a compelling read that it won the Anthony Award for Best Novel of the Century.

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue

 Romance > Historical
Author: Mackenzi Lee
Regularly $9.99, Today $2.99

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

A young bisexual British lord embarks on an unforgettable Grand Tour of Europe with his best friend/secret crush. An 18th-century romantic adventure for the modern age written by This Monstrous Thing author Mackenzi LeeSimon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda meets the 1700s.

Henry “Monty” Montague doesn’t care that his roguish passions are far from suitable for the gentleman he was born to be. But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quests for pleasure and vice are in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

So Monty vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

The Castaways: A Novel

 Women’s Fiction > Friendship
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Regularly $7.99, Today $3.99

The Castaways: A Novel

Greg and Tess MacAvoy are one of four prominent Nantucket couples who count each other as best friends. As pillars of their close-knit community, the MacAvoys, Kapenashes, Drakes, and Wheelers are important to their friends and neighbors, and especially to each other. But just before the beginning of another idyllic summer, Greg and Tess are killed when their boat capsizes during an anniversary sail. As the warm weather approaches and the island mourns their loss, nothing can prepare the MacAvoy’s closest friends for what will be revealed.

Superman: Red Son (New Edition)

 Graphic Novels > Historical & Biographical Fiction
Author: MARK MILLAR, DAVE JOHNSON, KILLIAN PLUNKETT
Regularly $17.99, Today $5.99

Superman: Red Son (New Edition)

The critically acclaimed Superman: Red Son now collected in a brand new edition!

In this vivid tale of Cold War paranoia, the ship carrying the infant who would grow up to become Superman lands in the midst of the 1950s Soviet Union, where he is raised on a collective. As he becomes a symbol to the Soviet people, the world changes drastically from what we know — bringing Superman into conflict with Batman, Lex Luthor and others.

Alif the Unseen: A Novel

 Literary Fiction > Romance
Author: G. Willow Wilson
Regularly $15.99, Today $1.99

Alif the Unseen: A Novel

In an unnamed Middle Eastern security state, a young Arab-Indian hacker, who goes by Alif, shields his clients—dissidents, outlaws, revolutionaries, and other watched groups—from surveillance, and tries to stay out of trouble.

The aristocratic woman Alif loves has jilted him for a prince chosen by her parents, and his computer has just been breached by the state’s electronic security force, putting his clients and himself on the line. Then it turns out his lover’s new fiancé is the “Hand of God,” as they call the head of state security, and his henchmen come after Alif, driving him underground.

When Alif discovers The Thousand and One Days, the secret book of the jinn, which both he and the Hand suspect may unleash a new level of information technology, the stakes are raised and Alif must struggle for life or death, aided by forces seen and unseen.

Cowboy Stole My Heart: A River Ranch Novel

 Romance > Westerns
Author: Soraya Lane
Regularly $5.99, Today $2.99

Cowboy Stole My Heart: A River Ranch Novel

It takes true grit to build a billion-dollar dynasty like the Ford family ranch. But when it comes to finding love, all it takes is one handsome cowboy to steal a woman’s heart in Cowboy Stole My Heart by Soraya Lane.

SHE’S RIDING SOLO
As one of the heirs to the River Ranch fortune, Mia Ford is practically Texas royalty. But that doesn’t mean she’s some pampered princess. She can saddle up and ride a horse as well as any man, even a hard-working cowboy like Sam Mendes. For years, she’s harbored a crush on the strong, silent horseman. But how can she make a move when she’s his boss?

Weber’s New Real Grilling: The Ultimate Cookbook for Every Backyard Griller

 Cookbooks, Food & Wine > Outdoor Cooking
Author: Jamie Purviance
Regularly $5.99, Today $2.99

Weber's New Real Grilling: The Ultimate Cookbook for Every Backyard Griller

Grilling out is an essential part of the American culture, and Weber’s name is synonymous with barbecue, bringing friends and families together to create moments that make lasting memories. Weber’s New Real Grilling celebrates the joy of being in the backyard and gathering around the grill. Complete with more than 200 simple, classic, and—most of all—drop-to-your-knees delicious recipes, this book explores the foods and flavors that are made for grilling: the very best recipes for beef, pork, poultry, and seafood, small plates, vegetables and sides, desserts, and the best rubs, marinades, brines, and sauces. Find basic grilling skills, valuable tips, and tried-and-true techniques in Weber’s New Real Grilling that will turn any griller into an expert outdoor entertainer.

Ten Dead Comedians: A Murder Mystery

 Thrillers > Crime
Author: Fred Van Lente
Regularly $5.99, Today $2.99

Ten Dead Comedians: A Murder Mystery

As the story opens, nine comedians of various acclaim are summoned to the island retreat of legendary Hollywood funnyman Dustin Walker. The group includes a former late-night TV host, a washed-up improv instructor, a ridiculously wealthy “blue collar” comic, and a past-her-prime Vegas icon. All nine arrive via boat to find that every building on the island is completely deserted. Marooned without cell phone service or wifi signals, they soon find themselves being murdered one by one. But who is doing the killing, and why?

… See the rest of today ‘s Book Picks here on page 2Page 2