The Merging: An Ian Dex Supernatural Thriller Book 1 (Las Vegas Paranormal Police Department)

Fantasy > Humorous
Author: John P. Logsdon, Christopher P. Young
FREE

The Merging: An Ian Dex Supernatural Thriller Book 1 (Las Vegas Paranormal Police Department)

Ian Dex is the captain of the Las Vegas Paranormal Police Department (PPD), the crew responsible for kicking the crap out of any supernatural stupid enough to mess with the Strip. He’s a cop, a millionaire, an amalgamite, and a horndog.

Sin City is always running amok with disturbances and glitter, but sometimes those two items merge and the nightlife gets out of hand. Kind of like mixing Hell and…well, more Hell.

When an ubermage appears on the Strip, strutting around in his Chippendales-style outfit and sending out other ubernaturals to kick up dust and unleash destruction, it’s up to Ian Dex and his team to do what they do best: bust heads and shred souls.

Casinos are clamoring for help, cops are fighting tooth and nail just to survive, and tourists think it’s all part of the Vegas experience.

Out of Tupelo

Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
Author: Mark Gilleo
FREE

Out of Tupelo

Edward Winston leads a quiet, happy existence in the slow-paced Deep South . . . until his wife goes missing and his peaceful life flies off the rails. As his world collapses around him, Edward’s frantic search for his missing spouse hits a dead end when he is thwarted by the local sheriff’s unwillingness to confront the prime suspect. Cut off at every turn by corruption and inaction, Edward is forced to seek help from a shadowy source buried deep in his past. As law enforcement names him a person of interest in his wife’s disappearance, Edward uncovers a connection between his missing spouse and a secret that the city’s power elite will do anything to keep hidden. Revenge, murder, and betrayal surround Edward as he seeks to find his wife, clear his name, and get Out of Tupelo alive.

Good Deeds and Bad Intentions: A Bunny McGarry Short Story

International Mystery & Crime
Author: Caimh McDonnell
FREE

Good Deeds and Bad Intentions: A Bunny McGarry Short Story

It’s the night before Christmas and Bunny McGarry is hard at work. New York is the city that never sleeps and it certainly doesn’t take days off. Just because it’s the holidays it doesn’t mean that bad people aren’t up to no good. Helena Martinez is trying to start a new life for her and her son but her ex-husband has other ideas. When she is approached by a mysterious woman with an offer of help she has to choose between running again or trusting a ragtag bunch of strangers and their unconventional methods.

Good Deeds and Bad Intentions is a festive Bunny McGarry short story.

Caimh McDonnell is the author of the critically-acclaimed Dublin Trilogy featuring Bunny McGarry, which melds high-octane action with a distinctly Irish acerbic wit.

The Long Patrol: World War II Novel (164th Regiment Book 1)

Thrillers > Military
Author: Chris Glatte
FREE

The Long Patrol: World War II Novel (164th Regiment Book 1)

During the bloody battle for Guadalcanal, one Army unit’s mission to infiltrate enemy lines to arm and train a guerrilla force of natives goes horribly wrong.

The 164th Regiment of the Army ‘Americal’ Division has come to reinforce the beleaguered 1st Marine Division, which has been fighting the Japanese for months. It will be the Division’s first combat test, as well as its bloodiest.

The fighting has come to a standstill with neither side giving ground. The 164th is desperate to break the stalemate and the mounting casualties.

Their possible solution comes in the form of a British Coast Watcher. Thomas Welch offers to take a small unit into the jungle to meet up with a force of natives to instigate a guerrilla war against the Japanese rear.

Mistress of Mellyn: The Classic Novel of Romantic Suspense

Romance > Gothic
Author: Victoria Holt
Regularly $7.99, Today $1.99

Mistress of Mellyn: The Classic Novel of Romantic Suspense

Mount Mellyn stood as proud and magnificent as she had envisioned…But what bout its master–Connan TreMellyn? Was Martha Leigh’s new employer as romantic as his name sounded? As she approached the sprawling mansion towering above the cliffs of Cornwall, an odd chill of apprehension overcame her.

TreMellyn’s young daugher, Alvean, proved as spoiled and difficult as the three governesses before Martha had discovered. But it was the girl’s father whose cool, arrogant demeanor unleashed unfimiliar sensations and turmoil–even as whispers of past tragedy and present danger begin to insinuate themselves into Martha’s life.

Powerless against her growing desire for the enigmatic Connan, she is drawn deeper into family secrets–as passion overpowers reason, sending her head and heart spinning.

Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis: The Untold Story

Biographies & Memoirs > Rich & Famous
Author: Barbara Leaming
Regularly $9.99, Today $1.99

Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis: The Untold Story


Barbara Leaming’s extraordinary and deeply sensitive biography is the first book to document Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis’ brutal, lonely and valiant thirty-one year struggle with post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) that followed JFK’s assassination.

Here is the woman as she has never been seen before. In heartrending detail, we witness a struggle that unfolded at times before our own eyes, but which we failed to understand.

Leaming’s biography also makes clear the pattern of Jackie’s life as a whole. We see how a spirited young woman’s rejection of a predictable life led her to John F. Kennedy and the White House, how she sought to reconcile the conflicts of her marriage and the role she was to play, and how the trauma of her husband’s murder which left her soaked in his blood and brains led her to seek a very different kind of life from the one she’d previously sought.

A Man to Die For (A Suspense/Thriller)

Thrillers > Medical
Author: Eileen Dreyer
Regularly $2.99, Today $0.99

A Man to Die For (A Suspense/Thriller)

St. Louis Trauma nurse Casey McDonough thinks her life is interesting enough. Her best friend still drops acid, her ex-husband is a cross-dressing psychiatrist, and her mother has turned the third floor of the family home into the Chapel of Eternal Vigilance.

Then, things begin to really go wrong when OB/Gyn Dr. Dale Hunsacker arrives. Handsome, wealthy and charismatic, the good doctor is enchanting the patients of the St. Louis hospital. But, Cassy believes he is a serial killer. And the only person who takes her seriously, is Hunsacker himself.

Caught in a spiral of suspicion and intimidation, Casey approaches ex-Marine, ex-Jesuit homicide sergeant Jack Scanlan for help. All she has are hunches for proof, but she’ll do anything to stop the monster walking the halls of her hospital.

Chasing the Scream: The First and Last Days of the War on Drugs

Public Affairs & Policy
Author: Johann Hari
Regularly $14.40, Today $4.99

Chasing the Scream: The First and Last Days of the War on Drugs

What if everything you think you know about addiction is wrong? One of Johann Hari’s earliest memories is of trying to wake up one of his relatives and not be able to. As he grew older, he realized he had addiction in his family. Confused, unable to know what to do, he set out on a three-year, 30,000-mile journey to discover what really causes addiction–and what really solves it.

He uncovered a range of remarkable human stories–of how the war on drugs began with Billie Holiday, the great jazz singer, being stalked and killed by a racist policeman; of the scientist who discovered the surprising key to addiction; and of the countries that ended their war on drugs–with extraordinary results.

His discoveries led him to give a TED talk and animation which have now been viewed more than 25 million times. This is the story of a life-changing journey that showed the world the opposite of addiction is connection.

The Jane Austen Project: A Novel

Historical Fiction > Fantasy
Author: Kathleen A. Flynn
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99

The Jane Austen Project: A Novel

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world’s most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.

London, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane—arrive in a field in rural England, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. Turned away at a nearby inn, they are forced to travel by coach all night to London. They are not what they seem, but rather colleagues who have come back in time from a technologically advanced future, posing as wealthy West Indies planters—a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren’t the first team from the future to “go back,” their mission is by far the most audacious: meet, befriend, and steal from Jane Austen herself.

Strangers Tend to Tell Me Things: A Memoir of Love, Loss, and Coming Home

Biographies & Memoirs
Author: Amy Dickinson
Regularly $5.99, Today $2.99

Strangers Tend to Tell Me Things: A Memoir of Love, Loss, and Coming Home

By peeling back the curtain of her syndicated advice column, Amy Dickinson reveals much of the inspiration and motivation that has fueled her calling. Through a series of linked essays, this moving narrative picks up where her earlier memoir left off.

Exploring central themes of romance, death, parenting, self-care, and spiritual awakening, this touching and heartfelt homage speaks to all who have faced challenges in the wake of life’s twists and turns. From finding love in middle-age to her storied experience with stepparenting to overcoming disordered eating to her final moments spent with her late mother, Dickinson’s trademark humorous tone delivers punch and wit that will empower, entertain, and heal.