Reduced Ransom! (Hotshot Book 1)

Mystery > Cozy
Author: Mike Faricy
FREE

Reduced Ransom! (Hotshot Book 1)

Mickey and Dell, two long suffering halfwits come up with the idea of kidnapping at a bargain basement price. What could possibly go wrong? Well, maybe a victim who doesn’t want to be returned, another with a husband who doesn’t want her back, one who’s tougher than her kidnappers, and another who’s entirely the wrong person. Not to mention local thug Huey Evans who is looking to settle a score. Reduced Ransom! Faricy at his hilarious best. Check it out…

Facing Home (Over the Edge Book 1)

Romance > Mystery & Suspense
Author: Danielle Stewart
FREE

Facing Home (Over the Edge Book 1)

Vitorino “Click” Coglinaese knows he shouldn’t feel more at home in a war zone than he does in his own backyard. But when you earn yourself a nickname like Click, the only sound the enemy hears before you strike, transitioning back to civilian life is a more insurmountable task than any combat mission.

Click knows his family is longing for the kid who left for boot camp six years ago. But that person doesn’t exist anymore. The only thing strong enough to pull him back to Sturbridge, Tennessee is knowing one of his four sisters is in trouble.

A Case of Serendipity

Women’s Fiction
Author: K. J. Farnham
FREE

A Case of Serendipity

Ruth Bateman is at her wit’s end. If Bucky’s Beans doesn’t stop spamming her phone with discount codes for frou-frou java concoctions, she’s going to flip. After multiple failed attempts to unsubscribe, Ruth takes to the company’s Facebook page to vent her frustration over the never-ending texts.

When attorney, Henry Mancuso, stumbles upon Ruth’s complaint, he has no idea that a simple Facebook scroll is going to change his life. Now, he has to get Ruth to agree to a class action lawsuit when she’s just looking for some peace on her mobile device—not a drawn-out case against a coffeehouse giant.

Monday (Timeless Series #1)

Romance > Fantasy
Author: E. L. Todd, Kris Kendall
FREE

Monday (Timeless Series #1)

I don’t believe in destiny.

In fate.

Or in soul mates.

But I believe in Hawke.

My life has never been whole since my parents left forever. I have my brother, someone I can barely tolerate most of the time, and I have my best friend, Marie.

And I have myself.

Wings of Shadow (The Underground Trilogy Book 1)

Fantasy > Coming of Age
Author: Anna Kyss
FREE

Wings of Shadow (The Underground Trilogy Book 1)

Meghan’s graduation gift is one that any eighteen-year-old would dream of: traveling abroad to England. Her journey turns into more adventure than expected when Meghan meets the mysterious Kiernan and accepts his invitation to a secret club, hidden beneath the streets of London. The eclectic dress of the club-goers is not the only unusual thing she discovers in the Underground. Kiernan’s father has developed a warped set of rituals, and he targets Meghan as his next victim. Instead of the fun date she imagined, Meghan finds herself imprisoned and in a fight for her very survival.

I Call Bullshit: Live Your Life, Not Someone Else’s

Self-Help > Self-Esteem
Author: Joshua Miller
FREE

I Call Bullshit: Live Your Life, Not Someone Else's

Joshua Miller wants you to be happy. Not just getting by, not just successful by society’s standards, but can’t-wait- to-wake- up-every- single-day happy. If you’re shaking your head, convinced that this is impossible for you, Joshua calls bullshit. The life you want is attainable—you simply need to reconnect with the person you really are.

I Call Bullshit: Live Your Life, Not Someone Else’s takes the wildly overcomplicated advice presented by the self-help industry, distills it down to its basic principles, and reveals how those principles can help you become your authentic self.

Cryptonomicon

Historical Fiction > Fantasy
Author: Neal Stephenson
Regularly $8.99, Today $2.99

Cryptonomicon

With this extraordinary first volume in what promises to be an epoch-making masterpiece, Neal Stephenson hacks into the secret histories of nations and the private obsessions of men, decrypting with dazzling virtuosity the forces that shaped this century. As an added bonus, the e-book edition of this New York Times bestseller includes an excerpt from Stephenson’s new novel, Seveneves.

In 1942, Lawrence Pritchard Waterhouse—mathematical genius and young Captain in the U.S. Navy—is assigned to detachment 2702. It is an outfit so secret that only a handful of people know it exists, and some of those people have names like Churchill and Roosevelt. The mission of Waterhouse and Detachment 2702—commanded by Marine Raider Bobby Shaftoe-is to keep the Nazis ignorant of the fact that Allied Intelligence has cracked the enemy’s fabled Enigma code.

Ender’s Game (The Ender Quartet series Book 1)

Science Fiction > Genetic Engineering
Author: Orson Scott Card
Regularly $7.99, Today $2.99

Ender's Game (The Ender Quartet series Book 1)

In order to develop a secure defense against a hostile alien race’s next attack, government agencies breed child geniuses and train them as soldiers. A brilliant young boy, Andrew “Ender” Wiggin lives with his kind but distant parents, his sadistic brother Peter, and the person he loves more than anyone else, his sister Valentine. Peter and Valentine were candidates for the soldier-training program but didn’t make the cut—young Ender is the Wiggin drafted to the orbiting Battle School for rigorous military training.

Ender’s skills make him a leader in school and respected in the Battle Room, where children play at mock battles in zero gravity.

American Wino: A Tale of Reds, Whites, and One Man’s Blues

Food & Wine > Drinks & Beverages
Author: Dan Dunn
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99

American Wino: A Tale of Reds, Whites, and One Man's Blues

A professional booze writer whose life spins out of control tries to piece it back together by embarking upon an epic wine-fueled adventure that takes him to every corner of the U.S. Part vision quest, part guidebook, part journey into the bizarre tapestry of American life, it will make you laugh, make you cry and teach you a whole lot about wine.

Former Playboy magazine nightlife columnist Dan Dunn has a made a career out of drinking. Yet this man’s man—a connoisseur of beer and whiskey—knew next to nothing about one of the major drinks enjoyed the world over: wine. When a fateful tasting experience coincided with a serious existential crisis, Dunn decided to hit the road on a journey of discovery.

Ma, He Sold Me for a Few Cigarettes: A Memoir of Dublin in the 1950s

Biographies & Memoirs > Ethnic & National > Irish
Author: Martha Long
Regularly $5.99, Today $3.99

Ma, He Sold Me for a Few Cigarettes: A Memoir of Dublin in the 1950s (Memoirs of Dublin)

When Martha Long’s feckless mother hooks up with the Jackser (“that bandy aul bastard”), and starts having more babies, the abuse and poverty in the house grow more acute. Martha is regularly sent out to beg and more often steal, and her wiles (as a child of 7, 8) are often the only thing keeping food on the table. Jackser is a master of paranoid anger and outburst, keeping the children in an unheated tenement, unable to go to school, at the ready for his unpredictable rages. Then Martha is sent by Jackser to a man he knows in exchange for the price of a few cigarettes. She is nine. She is filthy, lice-ridden, outcast. Martha and Ma escape to England, but for an itinerant Irishwoman finding work in late 1950s England is a near impossibility. 

Betting on Hope (A Four of Hearts Ranch Romance Book 1)

Christian > Romance > Contemporary
Author: Debra Clopton
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99

Betting on Hope (A Four of Hearts Ranch Romance Book 1)

Maggie Hope is an advice columnist whose background leaves her with little advice to give . . . and it’s beginning to show. When Maggie fills in at an interview with champion horse trainer Tru Monahan, the on-camera chemistry between them is undeniable. Maggie’s bosses know this is the opportunity she’s been looking for to launch her career–and their bank accounts. In order to save her column, Maggie takes Tru up on the bet that he can teach her to ride a quick-stepping cutting horse like any cowgirl, despite the fact that she has never been on a horse. And in the meantime, she can get the scoop on the man under the cowboy hat.

The Copernicus Legacy: The Forbidden Stone

Historical Fiction > Renaissance
Author: Tony Abbott, Bill Perkins
Regularly $2.99, Today $0.99

The Copernicus Legacy: The Forbidden Stone

Bestselling author Tony Abbott’s epic new middle grade series, the Copernicus Legacy, begins with The Forbidden Stone, a thrilling adventure packed with puzzles, intrigue, and action. Fans of Rick Riordan and Ridley Pearson will love this first book in an exciting series that takes the reader all over the globe in a race to find pieces of a mysterious hidden past—before it’s too late.

Wade, Lily, Darrell, and Becca fly from Texas to Germany for the funeral of an old family friend. But instead of just paying their respects, they wind up on a dangerous, mind-blowing quest to unlock an ancient, guarded secret that could destroy the fate of the world.

A Tender Struggle: Story of a Marriage

 Marriage & Long-Term Relationships
Author: Krista Bremer
Regularly $1.99, Today $1.20

A Tender Struggle: Story of a Marriage

Fifteen years ago, Krista Bremer, a California-bred feminist, surfer, and aspiring journalist, met Ismail Suayah, sincere, passionate, kind, yet from a very different world. One of eight siblings born in an impoverished fishing village in Libya, Ismail was raised a Muslim–and his faith informed his life. When Krista and Ismail made the decision to become a family, she embarked on a journey she never could have imagined, an accidental jihad: a quest for spiritual and intellectual growth that would open her mind and, more important, her heart.

Train I Ride

Children’s eBooks > Cars, Trains & Things That Go
Author: Paul Mosier
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99

Train I Ride

Rydr is on a train heading east, leaving California, where her gramma can’t take care of her anymore, and traveling to Chicago, to live with an unknown relative. She brings with her a backpack, memories both happy and sad, and a box containing something very important.

As Rydr meets her fellow passengers and learns their stories, her own story begins to emerge. It’s one of sadness and heartache, and one Rydr would sometimes like to forget.

But as much as Rydr may want to run away from her past, on the train she finds that hope and forgiveness are all around her, and most importantly, within her, if she’s willing to look for it.

Good Old Dog: Expert Advice for Keeping Your Aging Dog Happy, Healthy, and Comfortable

Animal Care & Pets > Dogs
Author: Faculty of the Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts Univer, Nicholas H. Dodman, Lawrence Lindner
Regularly $14.99, Today $1.99

Good Old Dog: Expert Advice for Keeping Your Aging Dog Happy, Healthy, and Comfortable

Our dogs are living longer than ever thanks to enormous advances in medical treatment and a highly evolved understanding of what they need to thrive. No one knows this better than the faculty of the Cummings Veterinary School at Tufts, who treat more than eight thousand older dogs annually.

Their philosophy of caring for aging canines combines empathy for each individual pet and owner, a comprehensive approach to patient care, cutting-edge science and technology, and a commitment to innovation. Good Old Dog brings their renowned clinic to you, sharing essential knowledge to keep man’s best friend thriving through their golden years.