Scarlet Toys (Violent Circle Book 1)

  Romantic Comedy
Author: S.M. Shade
FREE

Scarlet Toys (Violent Circle Book 1)

Living on Violet Circle, a place that’s less of a neighborhood and more of an insane asylum poured into the street, I thought I was prepared for anything. After you’ve seen a woman strip down at the laundry room to wash the clothes she’s wearing, then saunter across the street naked, you’ve seen it all, right?

How naïve I was.

After the factory closed, leaving me and a good portion of the town unemployed, I took a job managing Scarlet Toys. I knew it wouldn’t be a typical work environment, selling adult toys in a town more uptight than a constipated nun, but some things you just never see coming.

Like the protesters covered in poison ivy, screaming about smut peddlers.

Or a dancing dinosaur named Fappy.

Ghost in the Machine (DC Scott Cullen Crime Series Book 1)

 Mystery > Police Procedurals
Author: Ed James
FREE

Ghost in the Machine (DC Scott Cullen Crime Series Book 1)

For fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart McBride and Christopher Brookmyre, Ghost in the Machine is the novel that introduced readers to ambitious maverick Detective Constable Scott Cullen, whose series has set the bestseller charts alight.

With a messy divorce behind her, Caroline Adamson’s future is finally looking up. But after her mutilated body is found, police think Caroline’s ex-husband is the main suspect.

When one murder becomes three, Edinburgh faces up to the fact that it might have a serial killer in its midst. Then DC Scott Cullen of Lothian and Borders CID starts to question his superiors. Could the answer lie with Schoolbook, the latest social media craze to hit the city?

Mango Lucky (Mango Bob Book 2)

 Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
Author: Bill H Myers
FREE

Mango Lucky (Mango Bob Book 2)

John Walker — recently divorced and living in a motorhome near the beach in Florida — seems to be on a lucky streak. No matter what he does, he comes out a winner. He’s won the lottery, found a pot of gold, and met the perfect woman. But good luck often comes with complications. His perfect woman ‘needs her space’ and suggests he take a vacation – without her. So he packs up his motorhome, aka ‘The Love Bus’, and heads off to Florida’s Treasure Coast in search of long lost gold from the Spanish Fleet wreck of 1715.
His hunt for treasure finds more than he could ever imagine. A mystery woman, a magical dog, and maybe another pot of gold. Join Walker and his bobtail cat in this rollicking adventure set in the Sunshine State.

MESSAGES (The David Chance Series Book 1)

 Mystery, Thriller & Suspense > Religious & Inspirational Fiction
Author: John Michael Hileman
FREE

MESSAGES (The David Chance Series Book 1)

David Chance can see messages in the sea of words around him, messages that warn him of future events.

Words are everywhere– on labels, magazines, sign posts, t-shirts– everywhere. And as much as David Chance would like to hide from them, he can’t. Words keep leaping off objects around him, forming messages in his mind. But how is this possible? Has his brain suddenly taken an evolutionary leap forward, or are the mysterious messages proof of divine intervention?

Driven to answer a question he’d long ago abandoned, and stalked by the killer he’s trying to stop, David risks everything to follow the messages to a dirty bomb set to go off in the heart of Boston.

The Blood House

 Horror
Author: Amy Cross
FREE

The Blood House

Seventy-five years ago, a family of three disappeared from their remote English home. Blood was left smeared all over the floors and walls, but despite an extensive search, their bodies were never found.

Now the house is ready to kill again.

On the run from his creditors, Owen Richards moves his wife and daughter out to the same house. Despite the strange portrait of an old man in the hallway, and the faint ticking sound coming from the walls, he insists that the house offers a perfect chance for them to start afresh.

Before their first night in their new home is over, however, Owen and his family are going to come face-to-face with the diabolical creation of a long-dead old man.

Duval and the Infernal Machine (Napoleon’s Police Book 1)

 Historical Fiction > French
Author: Michele McGrath, Sheri McGathy
FREE

Duval and the Infernal Machine (Napoleon's Police Book 1)

Invalided out of the French Army, Alain Duval joins the Ministry of Police in Paris, led by the infamous Joseph Fouché. Newly appointed and off duty, he is strolling through the city when he sees a crowd waiting for Napoleon, the First Consul, not yet Emperor. He is jostled by some men leaving the area in a hurry and shortly afterwards a bomb, the ‘Infernal Machine’ explodes. Duval joins the hunt for the bombers. Horse-shoes and barrel hoops send him searching all over Paris. Some of the bombers are captured but others escape. Napoleon puts an abrupt end to the search but the story is not over.

The Poison Tree: A True Story of Family Terror

 Biographies & Memoirs > True Crime
Author: Alan Prendergast
Regularly $5.99, Today $2.99

The Poison Tree: A True Story of Family Terror

One cold November night, in Cheyenne, Wyoming, fifteen-year-old Richard Jahnke Jr., ROTC leader and former Boy Scout, waited for his parents to return from celebrating the twentieth anniversary of the night they met. When his father got out of the car, the boy blasted him through the heart with a twelve-gauge pump-action shotgun. Richard’s seventeen-year-old sister, Deborah, was sitting on the living room couch with a high-powered rifle—just in case her brother missed.

Hours later the Jahnke kids were behind bars. Days later they made headlines. So did the truth about the house of horrors on Cowpoke Road.

Getting Real

  Romance > Contemporary
Author: Ainslie Paton
Regularly $3.99, Today $0.99

Getting Real

From the bestselling author of Grease Monkey Jive comes a rollercoaster rock-and-roll ride of confronting fears, making music, and learning to be true.

Rielle Mainline is a rock star with a hardcore image, a troubled heart, and a twenty-five-city tour to front with her band, Ice Queen. She should be ecstatic. But the tour includes Sydney and Rielle has spent years running away from that city.

Jake Reed knows Rielle’s reputation as a prize bitch will make being Ice Queen’s tour manager a challenge, but Jake’s confident he can handle her — until he meets her. Then he’s off-balance, not sure if he wants to kiss her or throttle her.

Natalia’s Secret Spinster’s Society (The Spinster’s Society)

 Literature & Fiction > British > Historical
Author: Charlotte Stone
Regularly $2.99, Today $0.99

Natalia’s Secret Spinster’s Society (The Spinster’s Society) (A Regency Romance Book)

Natalia Hext– or rather Leah Wells– has a secret that the Men of Nashwood would kill for. 

Circumstances have forced her to keep her true identity hidden. 

It is unfortunate that the boy she once knew, now a very handsome man, is eager to expose her secrets in the most cruel and sensual of ways.

William Tift knows there’s more to the eye than what the cryptic Mrs. Wells presents to the world.
Something about Leah is not quite right. 

He’ll find out what it is, never mind that he feels a familiarity with her.
The point is, she knows too much and William will do what he must to keep her quiet.

Nailed (A Ron Ketchum Mystery Book 1)

  Thrillers & Suspense
Author: Joseph Flynn
Regularly $4.99, Today $0.99

Nailed (A Ron Ketchum Mystery Book 1)

Ron Ketchum saw his share of the dark side of life as a cop in Los Angeles. Then he left L.A. to become the chief of police in the Sierra Nevada resort town of Goldstrike. One sunny morning in the mountains, though, he comes upon a crime unlike anything he’s ever seen before.

He finds the body of an African American man nailed to a tree.

The victim is a highly respected minister, and his father is the nationally known televangelist Jimmy Thunder. Ron, on the other hand, has described himself in court as a recovering bigot.

 

Mastering the Art of French Eating: From Paris Bistros to Farmhouse Kitchens, Lessons in Food and Love

 Cookbooks, Food & Wine
Author: Ann Mah
Regularly $14.99, Today $1.99

Mastering the Art of French Eating: From Paris Bistros to Farmhouse Kitchens, Lessons in Food and Love

When journalist Ann Mah’s diplomat husband is given a three-year assignment in Paris, Ann is overjoyed. A lifelong foodie and Francophile, she immediately begins plotting gastronomic adventures à deux. Then her husband is called away to Iraq on a year-long post—alone. Suddenly, Ann’s vision of a romantic sojourn in the City of Light is turned upside down.

So, not unlike another diplomatic wife, Julia Child, Ann must find a life for herself in a new city.  Journeying through Paris and the surrounding regions of France, Ann combats her loneliness by seeking out the perfect pain au chocolat and learning the way the andouillette sausage is really made.

BREAKING STEELE: A Sarah Steele Legal Thriller (Sarah Steele series Book 1)

 Mystery > Private Investigators
Author: Aaron Patterson, Ellie Ann
Regularly $4.99, Today $0.99

BREAKING STEELE: A Sarah Steele Legal Thriller (Sarah Steele series Book 1)

Sarah Steele lands a case for the brutal murder of a young girl. It should have been an open-and-shut case, but the accused is a multi-millionaire who’s not playing by the rules.

When Steele’s case begins to unravel, it gets personal. How far will she go to take down the killer?

The Indigo Girl: A Novel

 Historical Fiction
Author: Natasha Boyd
Regularly $7.99, Today $2.99

The Indigo Girl: A Novel

In 1739, bright and determined sixteen-year-old Eliza Lucas is charged with keeping her family’s struggling plantations afloat, in her father’s absence. Learning of the high value of indigo, Eliza becomes determined to learn the secret of growing the enigmatic crop, believing it to be her family’s salvation, but everyone tells Eliza growing indigo in the region is impossible. Thwarted at nearly every turn, even by her own family, Eliza finds her only allies in an aging horticulturalist, an older and married gentleman lawyer, and a slave with whom she strikes a dangerous deal: teach her the intricate thousand-year-old secret process of making indigo dye and in return—against the laws of the day—she will teach the slaves to read.

The Despot’s Apprentice: Donald Trump’s Attack on Democracy

 Politics & Government
Author: Brian Klaas, David Talbot
Regularly $18.99, Today $11.39

The Despot's Apprentice: Donald Trump's Attack on Democracy

Donald Trump isn’t a despot. But he is increasingly acting like The Despot’s Apprentice, an understudy in authoritarian tactics that threaten to erode American democracy, including:

  • Attacking the press
  • Threatening rule of law by firing those who investigate his alleged wrongdoings
  • Using nepotism to staff the White House

and countless other techniques

Donald Trump is borrowing tactics from the world’s dictators and despots. Trump’s fascination with the military, his obsession with his own cult of personality, and his deliberate campaign to blur the line between fact and falsehood are nothing new to the world of despots. But they are new to the United States. With each authoritarian tactic or tweet, Trump poses a unique threat to democratic government in the world’s most powerful democracy.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. ... See the rest of today's Book Picks here on page 3Page 3

… See the rest of today ‘s Book Picks here on page 2Page 2