Project Nemesis (A Kaiju Thriller) (Nemesis Saga Book 1)

 Science Fiction > Adventure
Author: Jeremy Robinson, Matt Frank
FREE

Project Nemesis (A Kaiju Thriller) (Nemesis Saga Book 1)

Jon Hudson, lead investigator for the Department of Homeland Security’s Fusion Center-P, thinks his job is a joke. While other Fusion Centers focus on thwarting terrorist activity, Hudson’s division is tasked with handling paranormal threats to national security, of which there have been zero during his years at the DHS. When yet another Sasquatch sighting leads to a research facility disguised as an abandoned Nike missile site in the back woods of Maine, Hudson’s job becomes deadly serious.

Hudson and the local Sheriff, Ashley Collins, suddenly find themselves on the run from a ruthless ex-Special Forces security team, but the human threat is short-lived as something very much not-human destroys the facility and heads for civilization, leaving only a single clue behind—a name scrawled in blood: Nemesis.

Driven to Date (Better Date than Never Series Book 7)

 Romantic Comedy
Author: Susan Hatler
FREE

Driven to Date (Better Date than Never Series Book 7)

Career-driven attorney, Jill Parnell, has worked long and hard to become a partner at Corbett, Gray, & Shaw. When the coveted position is given to the boss’s nephew, she does what any intelligent employee would do—attends a colleague’s wedding and schmoozes a high-powered partner at another law firm.

Her potential new boss has only one condition for her, that she demonstrate a personal life that will support a thriving career. Pretending to have a boyfriend is outside Jill’s comfort zone, but she invites the best man to act the part and Ryan is all-too eager to play her significant other. Sparks fly between them, but she reminds herself she’s only driven to date to get back on the partner track.

Summer’s Winter

 Christian Fiction > Mystery & Suspense
Author: Robin Johns Grant
FREE

Summer's Winter

When Jeanine finally connects with film star Jamie Newkirk, the object of her obsession, will it be a dream come true? Or will she be pulled into his family’s nightmare of secrets, control, and death?

At age ten, preacher’s daughter Jeanine fell in love with young movie star Jamie Newkirk and the character he played–Danny Summer. Jeanine believed God Himself promised Jamie would be part of her life–that he would rescue her from boring rural Georgia. But eleven years later, she’s graduating college and about to settle into the dreary nine-to-five life with no word from Jamie or God.
And then Jamie bursts into her life in an amazing way.

The Long Drunk

 Mystery > Private Investigators
Author: Eric Coyote
FREE

The Long Drunk

In Venice, California, the sun always shines, but that’s not much help if you’re a homeless drunk like James Murphy, a man with a past of shattered dreams and empty bottles. Murphy’s life in the gutter was bad enough, but now bad gets worse. Murphy has one week to solve a cold-case murder that has police detectives stumped, or else his best friend dies. Inspired by Chandler, Steinbeck, and Quentin Tarantino, THE LONG DRUNK is a darkly comic crime/detective saga filled with sex, violence, booze, and plenty of foul street talk. Hard-boiled, heartbreaking, and gritty as hell, it thoroughly immerses the reader in the squalid yet resourceful underworld of the down-and-out.

A Bit of Bite

 Romance > Paranormal > Vampires
Author: Cynthia Eden
FREE

A Bit of Bite

A killer is stalking the streets of Crossroads, Mississippi, and it’s up to Sheriff Ava Dushaine to stop him. But when suspicion falls on werewolf alpha Julian Kasey–Ava’s ex-lover and the man who still haunts her dreams–Ava knows that she’ll either have to prove his innocence…or watch the whole town go up in flames.

A BIT OF BITE is a short paranormal romance–the story contains approximately 11,000 words. A BIT OF BITE is intended for adults–it includes hot werewolves, a dangerous heroine, and graphic language. Consider yourself warned.

Steamborn (Steamborn Series Book 1)

 Science Fiction > Steampunk
Author: Eric Asher
FREE

Steamborn (Steamborn Series Book 1)

A supernatural swarm. A treacherous scheme. A tinker’s apprentice may be the village’s only hope…

Jacob has yet to meet a gadget he couldn’t fix or an adventure he couldn’t resist. With trade routes to his remote Lowlands town cut off, Jacob must exchange his boyhood adventures for petty theft. After all, his wages at the tinker shop aren’t enough to pay for his father’s medicine.

But it soon becomes clear why few merchants brave the nearby roads as a plague of terrifying creatures descends upon the town. With the Lowlands under siege, Jacob and his friend have no choice but to run for their lives. When their escape uncovers a terrible secret, Jacob learns there are those who’ll stop at nothing to make sure the teen takes the scandal to his grave…

Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery: A Novel

 Romantic Comedy
Author: Jenny Colgan
Regularly $8.99, Today $1.99

Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery: A Novel

For fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Jojo Moyes, and Jane Green, Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery is an irresistible novel—moving and funny, soulful and sweet—about happiness, heartache, and hope. And recipes.

A thriving bakery. A lighthouse to call home. A handsome beekeeper. A pet puffin. These are the things that Polly Waterford can call her own. This is the beautiful life she leads on a tiny island off the southern coast of England.

But clouds are gathering on the horizon. A stranger threatens to ruin Polly’s business. Her beloved boyfriend seems to be leading a secret life. And the arrival of a newcomer—a bereft widow desperately searching for a fresh start—forces Polly to reconsider the choices she’s made, even as she tries to help her new friend through grief.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. ... See the rest of today's Book Picks here on page 3Page 3

After the Music

 Romance > Holidays
Author: Christine Feehan
Regularly $2.49, Today $1.49

After the Music

Terrified by mysterious threats, Jessica Fitzpatrick takes her twin wards to the island mansion of their estranged father, Dillon Wentworth, a famous musician who became a recluse after a fire claimed his wife’s life and left him disfigured. With Christmas approaching, the spark between Dillon and Jessica might light the future, but the evil machinations of those who share his wife’s love of the occult may plunge the family into darkness—unless a Christmas miracle occurs.

Walden on Wheels: On the Open Road from Debt to Freedom

 Biographies & Memoirs > Travelers & Explorers
Author: Ken Ilgunas
Regularly $5.99, Today $1.99

Walden on Wheels: On the Open Road from Debt to Freedom

In this frank and witty memoir, Ken Ilgunas lays bare the existential terror of graduating from the University of Buffalo with $32,000 of student debt. Ilgunas set himself an ambitious mission: get out of debt as quickly as possible. Inspired by the frugality and philosophy of Henry David Thoreau, Ilgunas undertook a 3-year transcontinental jour¬ney, working in Alaska as a tour guide, garbage picker, and night cook to pay off his student loans before hitchhiking home to New York.
Debt-free, Ilgunas then enrolled in a master’s program at Duke University, determined not to borrow against his future again. He used the last of his savings to buy himself a used Econoline van and outfitted it as his new dorm. The van, stationed in a campus parking lot, would be more than an adventure—it would be his very own “Walden on Wheels.”

The Book of You: A Novel

 Thrillers > Psychological
Author: Claire Kendal
Regularly $6.99, Today $1.99

The Book of You: A Novel

A mesmerizing tale of psychological suspense about a woman who must fight to escape an expert manipulator determined to possess her, Claire Kendal’s debut novel is a sophisticated and disturbing portrait of compulsion, control, and terror that will appeal to fans of Before I Go to Sleep, The Silent Wife, and Into the Darkest Corner.

His name is Rafe, and he is everywhere Clarissa turns. At the university where she works. Her favorite sewing shop. The train station. Outside her apartment. His messages choke her voice mail; his gifts litter her mailbox. Since that one regrettable night, his obsession with her has grown, becoming more terrifying with each passing day. And as Rafe has made clear, he will never let her go.

The Lion in the Living Room: How House Cats Tamed Us and Took Over the World

 Biological Sciences > Animals
Author: Abigail Tucker
Regularly $13.99, Today $2.99

The Lion in the Living Room: How House Cats Tamed Us and Took Over the World

A lively adventure through history, natural science, and pop culture in search of how cats conquered the world, the Internet, and our hearts.

House cats rule back alleys, deserted Antarctic islands, and our bedrooms. Clearly, they own the Internet, where a viral cat video can easily be viewed upwards of ten million times. But how did cats accomplish global domination? Unlike dogs, they offer humans no practical benefit. The truth is they are sadly incompetent rat-catchers and pose a threat to many ecosystems. Yet, we love them still.

To better understand these furry strangers in our midst, Abby Tucker travels to meet the breeders, activists, and scientists who’ve dedicated their lives to cats.

Break Me Slowly (The Shattered Series Book 1)

 Romance > Contemporary
Author: Joya Ryan
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99

Break Me Slowly (The Shattered Series Book 1)

Graduate student Katelyn Gunn is headed for her first day of assistant teaching when she is almost hit by a car. The nervous and inexperienced Kate is shocked to realize that it isn’t the near death experience that has her heart racing, but the sinfully sexy man behind the wheel. Adam Kinkade is ultra-wealthy, devastatingly handsome, and the most powerful distribution mogul in Chicago—he is also the first man who ignites emotions inside of her other than fear.

Adam is a man used to getting what he wants. And he wants Katelyn—naked and often. Willing to stop at nothing to possess her, he relentlessly peruses Kate only to discover that it is she who possesses him—completely.
Kate quickly realizes that Adam has secrets of his own, secrets dark enough to break the walls she keeps so firmly in place.

Heart of Stone: An Ellie Stone Mystery (Ellie Stone Mysteries Series Book 4)

 Thrillers > Crime
Author: James W. Ziskin
Regularly $6.99, Today $2.99

Heart of Stone: An Ellie Stone Mystery (Ellie Stone Mysteries Series Book 4)

In the waning days of a lazy August holiday, Ellie Stone is enjoying a bright Adirondack-lake morning. Nearby, two men plummet to their deaths on the rocks below, just a few feet short of the water of a dangerous diving pool. A tragic accident, it seems. But the state police quickly establish that the two victims–one, a stranger to the lake and, the other, a teenaged boy from a nearby music camp–surely didn’t know each other. That anomaly is strange enough, but what really perplexes Ellie is the out-of-place station wagon parked twenty yards from the edge of the cliff.

… See the rest of today’s Book Picks here on page 2Page 2