Connections

 Mystery > Cozy
Author: Jacqueline Wein

FREE
Connections

Contrary to the dazzling wealth, glitz and glamour portrayed in the media, the Upper East Side of Manhattan is not only glass penthouses hedge fund managers, and $500 dinners.

There are also ordinary side streets where hard-working singles rent, where roommates split expenses, where elderly women live orderly lives. For many of them, home means a loving animal, the steadfast presence that shares a life, hears a secret, heals a hurt, claims the heart.

That’s how it is for long-term resident Rosa Bassetti. There is no better friend than Princess, her arthritic Poodle. Rosa’s neighbor, Eileen Hargan, feels the same about Fibber, McGee, her little Boston Terrier. Strangers at first, the two senior citizens become friends as they meet while walking their dogs, come sun, rain, or snow.

Eat, Drink, and Be Buried (Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery Book 4)

 Mystery > Traditional Detectives
Author: Kate Kingsbury

FREE
Eat, Drink, and Be Buried (Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery Book 4)

The Pennyfoot hides many secrets and its downstairs staff keeps a tight lip, even when the Edwardian aristocrats are spotted dallying with damsels in the boudoirs, or gambling in the forbidden card rooms hidden below the floorboards. Should now and then one of the hotel guests fall prey to a dastardly murderer, however, it is up to Cecily Sinclair to restore order before Scotland Yard steps in and shuts down her infamous seaside hotel.

The Soulkeepers (Soulkeepers Series Book 1)

 Fantasy > Paranormal & Urban
Author: G. P. Ching

FREE
The Soulkeepers (The Soulkeepers Series Book 1)

When fifteen-year-old Jacob Lau is pulled from the crumpled remains of his mother’s car, no one can explain why he was driving or why the police can’t find his mother’s body. A beautiful and mysterious neighbor offers to use her unique abilities to help him find his mom. In exchange, she requires Jacob to train as a Soulkeeper, a protector of human souls. He agrees to her demands, desperate for any clue to the mystery of his mother’s disappearance. But soon Jacob finds himself trapped in a web of half-truths and questions her motives for helping him.

Bluegrass Undercover (Bluegrass Brothers Book 1)

 Romantic Suspense
Author: Kathleen Brooks

FREE
Bluegrass Undercover (Bluegrass Brothers Book 1)

Cade Davies is a former Special Forces soldier who is now a high school teacher and football coach. And something is trying to kill his players. He’s been too busy trying to keep his players alive, while also avoiding the Davies Brothers marriage trap set by half the town, to pay attention and to the fiery redhead who has swept into his small town.

DEA Agent Annie Blake was undercover to bust a drug ring that preys on high school athletes in the adorable, small town ofKeeneston. She had thought to keep her head down and listen to the local gossip to find the maker of this deadly drug. What Annie didn’t count on was becoming the local gossip.

A Dangerous Temptation: Volume 1-3

 Historical Romance > Regency
Author: L.R. Olson

FREE
A Dangerous Temptation: Volume 1-3

Ruined by scandal, Julianna has hidden away in the country for the last few years hoping her indiscretion will eventually fade from the memory of society. Yes, she’s been lonely at times, but she’s content enough to follow her own rules. And when that bothersome nagging sensation that she’s missing something more flares, she’s able to shove it aside and focus on her friends, family and her true passion…painting. Until James arrives. James is arrogant, demanding and makes her believe that anything is possible, even a second chance at love. But is James the man he pretends to be?

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. ... See the rest of today 's Book Picks here on page 2Page 2

Between Boyfriends (Between Boyfriends Series Book 1)

 Romantic Comedy
Author: Sarka-Jonae Miller

FREE
Between Boyfriends: Free Romantic Comedy (The Between Boyfriends Series Book 1)
At first glance, twenty-one-year-old Jan Weston has it all: a gorgeous boyfriend, fun friends, and wealthy parents who take care of all those pesky credit card bills.

Then her boyfriend dumps her, her friendships fall apart, and her parents cut her off. Suddenly without money, without a man, and without a plan, it’s time for Jan to grow up.

Determined to get her life back on track, Jan decides it’s time to make it on her own. Can she find her way as a single lady in San Diego? Can she fix her friendships, her job prospects, and her hair? And can she keep her vow that she’ll never date again, even after she meets a guy who just might be perfect for her?

Hollywood Headlines Mysteries Boxed Set (Books 1-3)

 Mystery > Cozy
Author: Gemma Halliday

Regularly $6.99, Today $2.99
Hollywood Headlines Mysteries Boxed Set (Books 1-3)

Boxed set of three Hollywood Headlines Mysteries novels from Bestselling author Gemma Halliday.

HOLLYWOOD SCANDALS
Tina Bender is the gossip columnist at the infamous L.A. Informer tabloid. She knows everything about everyone who’s anyone. And she’s not afraid to print it. That is, until she receives a threatening note, promising, “If you don’t stop writing about me, you’re dead.” Teaming with a built bodyguard, a bubbly blonde, and an alcoholic obituary writer, Tina sets out to uncover just which juicy piece of Hollywood gossip is worth killing over.

The Smart Woman’s Guide to Planning for Retirement

 Personal Finance > Retirement Planning
Author: Mary Hunt

Regularly $13.99, Today $1.99
The Smart Woman's Guide to Planning for Retirement: How to Save for Your Future Today

What does a woman want to do when she retires? Travel? Pursue hobbies? Spend time with friends and family? We all have dreams about what those days will be like. But when it comes to turning those dreams into reality, women’s retirement confidence and know-how is low. According to a 2012 survey, 92 percent of women of all ages in this country don’t feel they’re educated enough to reach their retirement savings goals. For the woman who doesn’t know where to start or would like a knowledgeable guide who speaks her language, financial expert Mary Hunt offers a comprehensive but approachable resource for saving and planning for retirement.

The Case of the Invisible Dog: A Shirley Homes Mystery

 Mystery > Amateur Sleuths
Author: Diane Stingley

Regularly $3.99, Today $0.99
The Case of the Invisible Dog: A Shirley Homes Mystery

After failing to launch her career as a Hollywood actress, Tammy Norman returns home to North Carolina, desperate for a regular paycheck and a new lease on life. So she accepts a position assisting Shirley Homes, an exceptionally odd personage who styles herself after her celebrated “ancestor”—right down to the ridiculous hat. Tammy isn’t sure how long she can go on indulging the delusional Shirley (who honestly believes Sherlock Holmes was a real person!), but with the prospect of unemployment looming, she decides to give it a shot.

Flash Fire

 Romantic Suspense
Author: Dana Marton

Regularly $3.99, Today $0.99
Flash Fire

Former SEAL turned lawless mercenary Light Walker just wants to be left alone to avenge his brother’s death. He wants nothing to do with Clara Roberts, a by-the-book investigator on a secret mission, who is trying to talk (cough) badger (cough) him into helping her recover an American teenager who’d disappeared abroad. Clara Roberts isn’t crazy about the uneasy partnership either. How can tequila-swilling Walker be her best option? And, dear Lord, the things that come out of that man’s mouth!

Soon the sparks they generate–and the trouble they stir up–threaten to set the jungle ablaze. But as attraction grows into love, looming danger turns into all-out war.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. ... See the rest of today's Book Picks here on page 3Page 3

The Sustainable Vegetable Garden: A Backyard Guide to Healthy Soil and Higher Yields

 Gardening & Horticulture > Techniques > Organic
Author: John Jeavons, Carol Cox

Regularly $9.99, Today $1.99
The Sustainable Vegetable Garden: A Backyard Guide to Healthy Soil and Higher Yields

From the author of our best-selling and widely beloved HOW TO GROW MORE VEGETABLES comes this “quick and dirty” introduction to biointensive gardening that shows it is not only possible but easy to grow astonishing crops of healthful organic vegetables and fruits, while conserving resources and actually helping the soil. A revolutionary approach to feeding ourselves and nurturing the land, this book includes:
– Step-by-step illustrations and instructions that make these techniques simple for even the novice gardener.
– Everything you need to know about planning crops, composting, harvesting, and more.
– Complete resources for seeds, tools, and other garden supplies.Feed a family of four on the bounty of your backyard, or just get more out of your garden with less effort with this wonderful resource.

I Spy a Duke (Covert Heiresses Book 1)

 Romance > Mystery & Suspense
Author: Erica Monroe

Regularly $3.99, Today $0.99
I Spy a Duke (Covert Heiresses Book 1)

She wants revenge…
When bluestocking Vivian Loren becomes the governess for the wealthy Spencer family, she’s hunting for clues about the murder of her brother, not romance. But Vivian didn’t count on one thing: James Spencer, the infuriatingly handsome Duke of Abermont.

He needs a wife…
As head of Britain’s elite intelligence agency, James has no time to find and woo a wife. After discovering Vivian’s quest for answers has made her a pawn in a treacherous plot of one of Napoleon’s most deadly spies, James realizes they can help each other. She’ll become his duchess, and he’ll keep her safe.

Heads Up Psychology

 Behavioral Sciences
Author: Marcus Weeks

Regularly $9.99, Today $1.99
Heads Up Psychology

“What is insanity?” “Can we trust our memories?” “Who needs parents, anyway?” The answers to these and many other burning questions lie in the world of psychology. It is all around us, influencing advertising, politics, and product development, and Heads Up Psychology explains it all.

Using engaging graphics, this book explores the big ideas from all areas of psychology, including psychoanalysis, intelligence, and mental disorders, as well as offering biography spreads of key psychologists and case study panels about specific experiments to give everything context. Heads Up Psychology offers big ideas, simply explained for teen readers.

Never Tell a Lie: A Novel of Suspense

 Thrillers > Espionage
Author: Hallie Ephron

Regularly $6.99, Today $0.99
Never Tell a Lie: A Novel of Suspense

Author Hallie Ephron’s fast paced and disturbingly creepy Never Tell a Lie is a page-turning thrill ride that maestro Alfred Hitchcock would have been proud to call his own. A descent into gripping suburban terror, this stunner by the Ellen Nehr Award-winning mystery reviewer for the Boston Globe has been called “a snaky, unsettling tale of psychological suspense” by the Seattle Times. Fans of Mary Higgins Clark, Harlan Coben, and classic gothic mystery will adore this supremely suspenseful and consistently surprising story of a yard sale gone terribly wrong.

… See the rest of today’s Book Picks here on page 2Page 2