Camilla Chafer tops today’s Buffet with Armed and Fabulous, a hilarious romantic mystery, and part 1 of her “Lexi Graves” series.

Camilla is also author of the “Stella Mayweather” urban fantasy series.

As usual, each book listed here has gone FREE within the past 24 hours (except for the “Bargain Books” at the bottom of this page). Warning: Kindle book promotions can end without notice, so before downloading, click the link “See Kindle price at Amazon” to verify that the book is still free. (Prices and availability may differ outside USA.)

Armed and Fabulous (Lexi Graves Mysteries Book 1)

 Mystery > Women Sleuths

Armed and Fabulous (Lexi Graves Mysteries Book 1)

All Lexi wants to do is get through the day at her boring temp job with Green Hand Insurance. That’s until she discovers the vice president, Martin Dean, in a pool of blood and herself at the center of an investigation into insurance fraud.

Millions of dollars are missing, the chief suspect is dead and her mysterious, sexy, new boss is not what he seems.

Recruited by the joint task force working on the case, all Lexi has to do is work out who killed Dean and where the missing millions are. That’s easier said than done when her sister insists upon the baby shower to end all baby showers, her wise-ass cop family just wants to keep her safe, someone keeps leaving her creepy gifts, and all the clues point to a seedy sex club on the wrong side of town.

As the bodies start to pile up, Lexi is on a race against time to find the killer and the money, before she’s the next one in the murderer’s sights.

Test of Magnitude (The Torian Reclamation Book 1)

 Science Fiction > Alien Invasion

Test of Magnitude (The Torian Reclamation Book 1)

Revenge is only justice when it can be administered without hatred.

Welcome to the Tora star system, home of the spectacular Cardinal-4 space station overlooking Amulen and Banor, twin worlds that share the same orbit. One visit and you’ll understand why this station is the pinnacle of Torian achievement and a wonder of the Erobian Sphere.

Unfortunately, your timing isn’t great. Many centuries of peace and prosperity are on the verge of collapsing for members of the Erob coalition as signs of the first interstellar wars loom. The half-breeds tell us it is because we are now forsaking the ancient law, and have thus allowed an evil infection to begin spreading through the galaxy. But those Erob half-breeds have always been a little over-dramatic, haven’t they?

Brandon Foss, an unhappily married Virginian in his early thirties, awakes from a strange dream to discover he has been abducted from Earth and kept in cryonic preservation on Amulen for two decades. One other resuscitated human is with him, a real knucklehead who almost seems as alien to Brandon as their reptilian captors. A friendship of convenience forms as the two Earthlings soon become unwittingly intertwined in Torian politics and military affairs–at a time, it turns out, when the Torians desperately need just such intertwining.

Susannah’s Truth

 Romance > Historical

Susannah's Truth

When Susannah Blake’s father passes away, she suddenly finds herself almost penniless and alone. As if that weren’t enough, there are other secrets that will come to light as she struggles to make a new life for herself. Will the faith she has counted on all of her life be enough to guide her through these troubled waters, or will the shocking truth that she learns from those she loves prove to be more than she can bare?

Waves of Love: Contemporary Romance (Beach Read Book 1)

 Romance > Holidays

Waves of Love: Contemporary Romance (Beach Read Book 1)

Can love overcome an age difference of more than 10 years?

At thirty-two, Sage Drake has the world by the tail. She owns her own bookstore, in sunny Florida, and loves her work so much she lives in the apartment above the store. Then one day a young surfer strolls in, cadging free coffee and donuts from her little café. His name is Derek Chambers, and he’s no regular surfer: he’s an author of a series of surfing travelogues, eager to do a book-signing or two at Sage’s store. She goes him one better by offering to host a series of writing workshops, with Derek as the star. In return, Derek offers to teach Sage – who’s never learned – how to surf. Will the two find love in the waves?

Legally Wed: A Lawyers in Love Novella

 Humor & Satire

Legally Wed: A Lawyers in Love Novella

Adam Roth and Lily Adler have survived nutty neighbors, cow pajamas, mobsters and “the diaper incident.” They have learned to live, love, and work together in harmony. Most of the time. Now, with the promise of marital bliss on the horizon, they will need to tackle even bigger challenges, like Lily’s anxiety-fueled libido, Adam’s increasing exhaustion, two Jewish mothers and an eccentric wedding planner named Mr. Jonathan. Will everyone make it to the wedding alive? Find out in Legally Wed.

Hope Reborn (Texas Romance Book 3)

 Christian Fiction > Romance

Hope Reborn (Texas Romance Book 3)

New York dime novelist May Meriwether decides a heroic Texas Ranger will make a great love interest for her new heroine. Bored to tears and loving adventure, she sets out to the Lone Star State with her constant companion and confidant Chester in tow.

Dreams for a husband and children are relegated to the recesses of her heart, the self-confessed old maid deems it too late. But the near-perfect widower resurrects a smidgen of hope. Only his impenetrable, superstitious religious beliefs stand in the path to her falling head over heels, those and his love for his dead wife. Would there ever be room for her in his heart? And would he give up his fanaticism for God?

An unexpected romance surprises both. Hope is reborn in God’s unfailing love and grace. Can a life built on lies find the Way to confession, forgiveness, and true joy? In a day when the church offers the only stability on the 1850 Texas prairie, these unlikely players find one another and fall in love. But will it be enough?

Xoe: or Vampires, and Werewolves, and Demons, oh my! (Xoe Meyers Fantasy/Horror Series Book 1)

 Romance > Paranormal > Vampires

Xoe: or Vampires, and Werewolves, and Demons, oh my! (Xoe Meyers Fantasy/Horror Series Book 1)

Xoe Meyers had a normal life. So she was stuck going to high school, and she only had a few friends to call her own. She liked her normal life. Things were about to change though, because there’s a new guy in her small town, and he is anything but normal. Before Xoe can say, “Werewolf,” her best friend’s life is in peril, and Xoe’s world is turned upside-down. Then, of course, there’s Jason. Xoe doesn’t trust him as far as she can throw him, and given that he’s a vampire, she’d have to be able to catch him first.

It Started With A House

 Romantic Comedy

It Started With A House

Meet Lizzie. She’s 31 and having a mid life crisis. So she bought a house. Well, it seemed like a good idea at the time.
But she gets more than she bargained for. She didn’t expect the engagement ring, the lazy cat, the stalker or the drop dead gorgeous handyman. But she did already have the crazy family and sex crazed Grandma. So when she decides to find the rings’ rightful owner she kind of hoped that the Universe would be on her side. But that would be too easy wouldn’t it?
Lucky for Lizzie the Universe seems to know what it’s doing.

TODAY’S BARGAINS……………What’s this?

The Devil’s Necktie

 Thrillers & Suspense > Crime

The Devil's Necktie

A sizzling thriller for fans of James Patterson and Patricia Cornwell–an action-packed tour into the real-life world of cops, crime, drugs, and murder.

Retired inspector Jack Bertolino had strict rules when dealing with confidential informants. But Mia had the kind of beauty that could make a grown man contemplate leaving his wife, his job, and his kids. After a passionate night together, Mia is found murdered–and Jack is the lead suspect.

Facing threats from the LAPD, the 18th Street Angels, and a Colombian drug cartel, Jack delves deeper into the seedy world of drug dealers and murderers and discovers that the top players knew Mia personally. And now Jack is torn between fearing for his life and seeking revenge for his slain lover….either way, the body count will rise.

Our First Christmas

 Women’s Fiction

Our First Christmas

Megan Johnson’s marriage is over—or so she thinks. When her husband Chris lands in the hospital, fighting for his life, she remembers the unexpected joy of their first Christmas together…

Understories

 Science Fiction > Dystopian

Understories

“Horvath doesn’t just tell a story, he gives readers a window into the hearts, minds and souls of his characters.” —Concord Monitor

What if there were a city that consisted only of restaurants? What if Paul Gauguin had gone to Greenland instead of Tahiti? What if there were a field called Umbrology, the study of shadows, where physicists and shadow puppeteers worked side by side? Full of speculative daring though firmly anchored in the tradition of realism, Tim Horvath’s stories explore all of this and more— blending the everyday and the wondrous to contend with age-old themes of loss, identity, imagination, and the search for human connection. Whether making offhand references to Mystery Science Theater, providing a new perspective on Heidegger’s philosophy and forays into Nazism, or following the imaginary travels of a library book, Horvath’s writing is as entertaining as it is thought provoking.

Tim Horvath teaches creative writing at New Hampshire Institute of Art and Boston’s Grub Street writing center. He has also worked part-time as a counselor in a psychiatric hospital, primarily with autistic children and adolescents. He lives in New Hampshire with his wife and daughter.

The Center Cannot Hold

 Biographies & Memoirs

The Center Cannot Hold

Elyn R. Saks is an esteemed professor, lawyer, and psychiatrist and is the Orrin B. Evans Professor of Law, Psychology, Psychiatry and the Behavioral Sciences at the University of Southern California Law School, yet she has suffered from schizophrenia for most of her life, and still has ongoing major episodes of the illness. THE CENTER CANNOT HOLD is the eloquent, moving story of Elyn’s life, from the first time that she heard voices speaking to her as a young teenager, to attempted suicides in college, through learning to live on her own as an adult in an often terrifying world. Saks discusses frankly the paranoia, the inability to tell imaginary fears from real ones, the voices in her head telling her to kill herself (and to harm others); as well the incredibly difficult obstacles she overcame to become a highly respected professional. This beautifully written memoir is destined to become a classic in its genre.

The title is a line from “The Second Coming,” a poem by William Butler Yeats, which is alluded to in the book.

Forging Zero (The Legend of ZERO, Book 1)

 Science Fiction > Space Opera

Forging Zero (The Legend of ZERO, Book 1)

The Legend of ZERO begins the epic journey of 14-year-old Joe Dobbs in a post-apocalyptic universe following a massive alien invasion of Earth. The oldest of the children drafted from humanity’s devastated planet, Joe is impressed into service by the alien Congressional Ground Force—and becomes the unwitting centerpiece in a millennia-long alien struggle for independence. Once his training begins, one of the elusive and prophetic Trith appears to give Joe a spine chilling prophecy that the universe has been anticipating for millions of years: Joe will be the one to finally shatter the vast alien government known as Congress. And the Trith cannot lie.…

But first Joe has to make it through bootcamp.

… See the rest of today’s Editor’s Picks here on page 2