Free Kindle books & bargains for Friday, July 20, 2018

We Could Be Villains (Valentine & Hart Book 1)

Romance > Fantasy
Author: Missy Meyer
FREE

We Could Be Villains (Valentine & Hart Book 1)

Sarah Valentine is so over seeing drama about her city’s superheroes on every newspaper and TV broadcast. Besides, she has her own problems to worry about: her career isn’t going anywhere, she doesn’t have a boyfriend (or any prospects), and most of her weekends are spent escaping into video games that are way more thrilling than anything that will ever happen to her.

And worst of all, her thirtieth birthday is right around the corner.

But everything changes the day she runs into Nate—a chance encounter with a handsome stranger that turns her quiet life upside down and throws her into the middle of a world of heroes, villains, and adventure.

Intrigued (Club Prive Book 1)

Romance
Author: M. S. Parker
FREE

Intrigued (Club Prive Book 1)

Who is Gavin Manning and why does he keep showing up wherever I go? What does he want from me?

These are just a few of the questions law student Carrie Summers asks herself after running into devastatingly handsome Gavin for the third time at the opening of the hottest new club in town, Club Privé. Is he stalking her, or is it fate?

Despite telling herself that she doesn’t have time for a relationship, she finds his persistent attention flattering, and can’t help but be attracted to those deep blue eyes. An evening of fun and dancing turns into the most incredible night of her life, and she still doesn’t have a clue about Gavin.

Flawed

Literary Fiction
Author: Claudia Burgoa
FREE

Flawed

Hunter
Given a choice, I’d date a woman who doesn’t know who I am. Like the green-eyed woman I meet on sidewalk, tears streaming down her cheeks. The one who triggers what my overprotective older brothers call my “Everhart Complex”—the uncontrollable urge to erase someone else’s pain.

This little character flaw could shred me if I let it. That’s why I don’t do family law. But it’s who I am. Who I became after my parents died.

Pod (The Pattern Universe)

Science Fiction > Space Opera
Author: Tobias Roote
FREE

Pod (The Pattern Universe)

Humanity has managed to develop its fledgling World Space Council, but it’s still far from being effective and there are those who do not want it to succeed at all.

Meanwhile, the alien AI, Pod, is the only thing standing between them and those intent on eradicating all biological sentience within the galaxy. It’s almost too much for the tiny escape pod that has been left in charge of Earth’s safety.

So, while humans continue to war with each other over who should lead them into a future fraught with uncertainty and danger, the tiny AI attempts to ensure the eventual winner has something to defend Earth with.

Willow’s Secret (Thunder on the Mountain Series)

Historical Romance > Victorian
Author: Mimi Foster
FREE

Willow's Secret (Thunder on the Mountain Series)

Each volume in this series is a complete, stand-alone book and can be read in any order.

She laughed when she heard of her stepfather’s untimely demise. It was at that precise moment he fell in love.

Willow is capable and vibrant in a society that does not yet value the opinions of women. Too busy for daydreams of handsome heroes, it doesn’t prevent fantasies of the distractingly virile Charles from intruding on her thoughts more frequently than she’d like.

Knowing his presence in her life threatens all she’s ever known, Willow fights the pursuit of the one man who can ravage her world.

A Time to Fall (Love by the Seasons Book 1)

Romantic Comedy
Author: Jess Vonn
FREE

A Time to Fall (Love by the Seasons Book 1)

After an unfortunate discovery involving her boyfriend and a blonde and a glass-walled shower, Winnie Briggs is bolting from her Chicago-based life in search of a fresh start as the editor of rural Bloomsburo’s newspaper. Winnie’s only desire is to put all of her energy into her writing — well, that and to officially retire her lady parts in an act of self-defense.

Unfortunately, as scandal unfolds in her new community, her closest ally comes in the form of delicious-smelling Chamber of Commerce director Cal Spencer, who also happens to be the son of Winnie’s benevolent (if meddling) landlady.

Niche Down: How To Become Legendary By Being Different

Entrepreneurship
Author: Christopher Lochhead, Heather Clancy, Hal Elrod
FREE

Niche Down: How To Become Legendary By Being Different

Do you have the courage to stand out?

From the inventor of cubism Pablo Picasso to Spanx founder Sarah Blakely, the people we admire most in the world are original, unique, different. They take risks, claim new ground. They do not fit in, they stand out.

And they do not compete for attention in the traditional sense.

Most of us are tricked into believing that achieving personal and professional success means fitting in. What it really takes is the courage to stand out.

Are you ready?

In this dynamic, direct and succinct book, Lochhead and Clancy describe a research-based approach to thinking about your life and business called “category design.”

These Things Hidden: A Novel of Suspense

Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
Author: Heather Gudenkauf
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99

These Things Hidden: A Novel of Suspense

When teenager Allison Glenn is sent to prison for a heinous crime, she leaves behind her reputation as Linden Falls’ golden girl forever. Her parents deny the existence of their once-perfect child. Her former friends exult her downfall. Her sister, Brynn, faces
whispered rumors every day in the hallways of their small Iowa high school. It’s Brynn—shy, quiet Brynn—who carries the burden of what really happened that night. All she wants is to forget Allison and the past that haunts her.

But then Allison is released to a halfway house, and is more determined than ever to speak with her estranged sister.

Little Mercies

Suspense > Psychological
Author: Heather Gudenkauf
Regularly $2.99, Today $0.99

Little Mercies

Veteran social worker Ellen Moore is a fiercely dedicated children’s advocate. But a simple moment of distraction will have repercussions that Ellen could never have imagined, threatening to shatter everything she holds dear and trapping her between the gears of the system she works for.

Meanwhile, when ten-year-old Jenny Briard suddenly finds herself on her own, she is forced to survive with nothing but a few dollars and her street smarts. The last thing she wants is a social worker, but when Ellen’s and Jenny’s lives collide, little do they know just how much they can help one another.

A Taste of Cowboy: Ranch Recipes and Tales from the Trail

Cookbooks, Food & Wine > U.S. Regional > West
Author: Kent Rollins, Shannon Rollins
Regularly $5.99, Today $2.99

A Taste of Cowboy: Ranch Recipes and Tales from the Trail

Whether he’s beating Bobby Flay at chicken-fried steak on the Food Network, catering for a barbecue, bar mitzvah, or wedding, or cooking for cowboys in the middle of nowhere, Kent Rollins makes comfort food that satisfies. This gifted cook, TV contestant, and storyteller takes us into his frontier world with simple food anyone can do.

A cowboy’s day starts early and ends late. Kent offers labor-saving breakfasts like Egg Bowls with Smoked Cream Sauce. For lunch or dinner, there’s 20-minute Green Pepper Frito Pie, hands-off, four-ingredient Sweet Heat Chopped Barbecue Sandwiches, or mild and smoky Roasted Bean-Stuffed Poblano Peppers. He even parts with his prized recipe for Bread Pudding with Whisky Cream Sauce.

The Negative Calorie Diet: Lose Up to 10 Pounds in 10 Days with 10 All You Can Eat Foods

Diets > Weight Loss
Author: Rocco DiSpirito
Regularly $5.99, Today $2.99

The Negative Calorie Diet: Lose Up to 10 Pounds in 10 Days with 10 All You Can Eat Foods

In The Negative Calorie Diet, Rocco DiSpirito shares how simple it is to eat wholesome, delicious foods that naturally support weight loss. He calls these foods “negative calorie foods”—foods that help you to burn body fat, lose weight, and boost your metabolism. These whole foods are packed with fiber, so not only do you tend to eat smaller portions of them naturally, but you also stay fuller, longer. These nutritious superfoods offer the essential vitamins and minerals the body needs to keep your metabolism running efficiently. Some even offer what is known as a “thermogenic effect”—effectively boosting your metabolism to increase the rate at which your body burns energy.

Burglars Can’t Be Choosers (Bernie Rhodenbarr Series Book 1)

Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
Author: Lawrence Block
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99

Burglars Can't Be Choosers (Bernie Rhodenbarr Series Book 1)

Bernie Rhodenbarr is a personable chap, a good neighbor, a passable poker player. His chosen profession, however, might not sit well with some. Bernie is a burglar, a good one, effortlessly lifting valuables from the not-so-well-protected abodes of well-to-do New Yorkers like a modern-day Robin Hood. (The poor, as Bernie would be the first to tell you, alas, have nothing worth stealing.)

He’s not perfect, however; he occasionally makes mistakes. Like accepting a paid assignment from a total stranger to retrieve a particular item from a rich man’s apartment. Like still being there when the cops arrive. Like having a freshly slain corpse lying in the next room, and no proof that Bernie isn’t the killer.

To Hell on a Fast Horse: Billy the Kid, Pat Garrett, and the Epic Chase to Justice in the Old West

Biographies & Memoirs > Law Enforcement
Author: Mark Lee Gardner
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99

To Hell on a Fast Horse: Billy the Kid, Pat Garrett, and the Epic Chase to Justice in the Old West

No outlaw typifies America’s mythic Wild West more than Billy the Kid. To Hell on a Fast Horse by Mark Lee Gardner is the riveting true tale of Sheriff Pat Garrett’s thrilling, break-neck chase in pursuit of the notorious bandit. David Dary calls To Hell on a Fast Horse, “A masterpiece,” and Robert M. Utley calls it, “Superb narrative history.” This is spellbinding historical adventure at its very best, recalling James Swanson’s New York Times bestseller Manhunt—about the search for Lincoln’s assassin, John Wilkes Booth—as it fills in with fascinating detail the story director Sam Peckinpah brought to the screen in his classic film Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid.

Lizzie Searches for Love Trilogy: Three Bestselling Novels In One

Romance > Amish
Author: Linda Byler
Regularly $19.79, Today $2.99

Lizzie Searches for Love Trilogy: Three Bestselling Novels In One

Now, bestselling Amish romance novelist, Linda Byler, has her beloved first series available in a single volume! Lizzie Searches for Love books are based on true experiences and include:   Running Around (and Such), Book 1. It isn’t that Lizzie doesn’t want to stay Amish. It’s just that there is so much for her to figure out. She has a hot temper. She hates housework and dislikes babies. She loves driving fast horses. Now that Lizzie is running around, will she scare off the Amish boys with her hi-jinks manners? What will become of Lizzie?

Small Hours

Women’s Fiction > Domestic Life
Author: Jennifer Kitses
Regularly $5.99, Today $2.99

Small Hours

In the vein of Richard Russo and Tom Perrotta, a gripping, suspenseful, and gorgeous debut novel–told hour-by-hour over the course of a single day–in which a husband and wife try to outrun long-buried secrets, sending their lives spiraling into chaos.

… See the rest of today ‘s Book Picks here on page 2Free Kindle books & bargains for Monday, June 18, 2018Page 2