Free Kindle books & bargains for Friday, January 12, 2018

A Shot in the Bark: A Dog Park Mystery (Lia Anderson Dog Park Mysteries Book 1)

 Romance > Mystery & Suspense
Author: C. A. Newsome, Carol Ann Newsome

A Shot in the Bark: A Dog Park Mystery (Lia Anderson Dog Park Mysteries Book 1)

Would you recognize a killer if you talked to one every day? Artist Lia Anderson doesn’t. Neither do her friends at the Mount Airy Dog Park. When the apparent suicide of Lia’s deadbeat boyfriend draws the attention of Detective Peter Dourson, he decides to adopt the dead man’s dog to infiltrate the tight group he’s certain conceals Luthor Morrissey’s killer. As his investigation uncovers secrets, a grieving Lia fights her growing attraction to the laid-back detective. Meanwhile, Luthor’s killer lurks, desperate to stay ahead of the investigation—no matter who has to die…

Bad Karma: A gripping serial killer thriller with a twist (The Criminally Insane Series Book 1)

  Thrillers > Crime
Author: Douglas Clegg

Bad Karma: A gripping serial killer thriller with a twist (The Criminally Insane Series Book 1)

“I’m coming for you. You will never escape me.”

She’s the most dangerous inmate in the hospital for the criminally insane…and she just broke out. Get the series: Red Angel(#2) and Night Cage (#3). When Trey Campbell takes his family to Catalina Island, his escaped patient leaves a trail of bodies behind as she hunts for her one true love – from a previous life.

A gripping psychological thriller full of page-turning suspense and mind-bending horror for fans of James Patterson, Gillian Flynn, and Robert Bryndza.

Duchess By Chance (Regency Rakes Book 1)

 Historical Romance > Regency
Author: Wendy Vella

Duchess By Chance (Regency Rakes Book 1)

The new Duke of Stratton is shocked to learn he has a fiancée he’s never met – the unlikely Miss Eva Winchcomb.

After his late father gambled his fortune away, all he had left to sell was his son. So to save his family’s honor Daniel agrees to the marriage.

But society’s favorite bachelor is no longer a charming easygoing man. His father’s betrayal has left him angry and with a thirst for revenge and the last thing he needs are his growing feelings for his shy new wife.

Eva learns she is to wed the Duke of Stratton on way to the church. Despite the shock, this is an unexpected opportunity to escape her horrid family – one she grasps at with both hands.

The Dog

 Science Fiction > Dystopian
Author: Amy Cross

The Dog

One man and his dog come face-to-face with the end of the world…

When Jon takes his dog Harry to a remote cabin for the week, he just wants to get away from the rest of the world. And then one morning, after finding that his phone is dead, Jon looks at the city in the distance and realizes that something seems very wrong.

All the power has gone out. At night, the city is completely dark. There are no planes in the sky, and when Jon drives to the nearest gas station, he finds a desolate and bloody scene. He refuses to believe that something truly awful has happened, however, until he spots a figure stumbling through the forest, heading ever closer.

The Questing (House of de Bretagne)

 Historical Fiction > Scottish
Author: Kathryn Le Veque

The Questing (House of de Bretagne)

1298 A.D. – Lady Diamantha de Bocage Edlington lost her husband at the Battle of Falkirk. Grieving, she is unprepared for the visit of Sir Cortez de Bretagne, King Edward’s garrison commander at Sherborne Castle. Dark and fiery from his Spanish heritage, Cortez is a knight with sultry good looks and a quick temperament. He has also come on a mission.

Cortez was the last man who saw Diamantha’s husband alive and promised the dying man he would take care of his wife. He has therefore come to claim her. Horrified, Diamantha struggles to come to terms with what de Bretagne is telling her, but in her heart, resentment and hatred stir: Robert Edlington’s corpse was left upon the fields of Falkirk and de Bretagne, as the last man to see him, is to blame.

The Family Simon Boxed Set (Books 1-3)

 Romance > Contemporary
Author: Juliana Stone

The Family Simon Boxed Set (Books 1-3)

TUCKER: When all hope is gone, can love still find a way?
Tucker Simon has given up on love. After a tragedy, it’s just not in the cards for him, and he wishes his family would get off his back. He’s fine—or at least he thought he was–until a family wedding forces him to address a few things, namely his date, Abby Mathews. She’s been put in the ‘friend’ category, mostly because she deserves so much more than what he can give. But the more time that he spends with her, Tucker begins to think that maybe there is a chance for love after all…

The Knockoff: A Novel

 Fiction > Humor & Satire
Author: Lucy Sykes, Jo Piazza
Regularly $8.99, Today $2.99

The Knockoff: A Novel

When Imogen returns to work at Glossy after six months away, she can barely recognize her own magazine. Eve, fresh out of Harvard Business School, has fired “the gray hairs,” put the managing editor in a supply closet, stopped using the landlines, and hired a bevy of manicured and questionably attired underlings who text and tweet their way through meetings. Imogen, darling of the fashion world, may have Alexander Wang and Diane von Furstenberg on speed dial, but she can’t tell Facebook from Foursquare and once got her iPhone stuck in Japanese for two days. Under Eve’s reign, Glossy is rapidly becoming a digital sweatshop—hackathons rage all night, girls who sleep get fired, and “fun” means mandatory, company-wide coordinated dances to Beyoncé.

The Black Swan: Second Edition: The Impact of the Highly Improbable (Incerto)

 Politics & Social Sciences
Author: Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Regularly $13.99, Today $2.99

The Black Swan: Second Edition: The Impact of the Highly Improbable (Incerto)

A black swan is a highly improbable event with three principal characteristics: It is unpredictable; it carries a massive impact; and, after the fact, we concoct an explanation that makes it appear less random, and more predictable, than it was. The astonishing success of Google was a black swan; so was 9/11. For Nassim Nicholas Taleb, black swans underlie almost everything about our world, from the rise of religions to events in our own personal lives.

Why do we not acknowledge the phenomenon of black swans until after they occur? Part of the answer, according to Taleb, is that humans are hardwired to learn specifics when they should be focused on generalities.

Station Eleven: A novel

 Science Fiction > Post-Apocalyptic
Author: Emily St. John Mandel
Regularly $9.99, Today $2.99

Station Eleven: A novel

An audacious, darkly glittering novel set in the eerie days of civilization’s collapse, Station Eleven tells the spellbinding story of a Hollywood star, his would-be savior, and a nomadic group of actors roaming the scattered outposts of the Great Lakes region, risking everything for art and humanity.

One snowy night Arthur Leander, a famous actor, has a heart attack onstage during a production of King Lear. Jeevan Chaudhary, a paparazzo-turned-EMT, is in the audience and leaps to his aid. A child actress named Kirsten Raymonde watches in horror as Jeevan performs CPR, pumping Arthur’s chest as the curtain drops, but Arthur is dead.

The Skeletons of Scarborough House (Chapelwick Mysteries Book 1)

 Mystery > Supernatural > Psychics
Author: Kitty French
Regularly $2.99, Today $0.99

The Skeletons of Scarborough House: A hilarious cozy mystery (The Chapelwick Mysteries Book 1)

Welcome to Chapelwick, a leafy English town in the hills of Shropshire, where chocolate fudge cake comes served with a side of murder.

Scarborough House is haunted, and it’s not doing much for Donovan Scarborough’s investment portfolio. No one wants to buy a place with levitating crockery, or (the wrong kind of) rhythmic pounding throughout the night.

Luckily, Melody “I-See-Dead-People” Bittersweet has just launched her own ghostbusting agency with best friend Marina, geeky, keen Arthur, and a one-eared pug called Lestat. They’re quick to take the case, even if it has already sort of (definitely) been given to Leo Dark, Melody’s rakish, despicable ex.

Mystery on the Isles of Shoals: Closing the Case on the Smuttynose Ax Murders of 1873

 History > Americas
Author: J. Dennis Robinson
Regularly $26.99, Today $1.99

Mystery on the Isles of Shoals: Closing the Case on the Smuttynose Ax Murders of 1873

For the first time, the full story of a crime that has haunted New England since 1873.

The cold-blooded ax murder of two innocent Norwegian women at their island home off the coast of New Hampshire has gripped the region since 1873, beguiling tourists, inspiring artists, and fueling conspiracy theorists.

The killer, a handsome Prussian fisherman down on his luck, was quickly captured, convicted in a widely publicized trial, and hanged in an unforgettable gallows spectacle. But he never confessed and, while in prison, gained a circle of admirers whose blind faith in his innocence still casts a shadow of doubt. A fictionalized bestselling novel and a Hollywood film have further clouded the truth.

The Duke’s Tattoo (The Horsemen of the Apocalypse Series Book 1)

 Romance > Historical > Regency
Author: Miranda Davis
Regularly $2.99, Today $0.99

The Duke's Tattoo: A Regency Romance of Love and Revenge, Though Not in That Order (The Horsemen of the Apocalypse Series Book 1)

London, August 1815
Before he was the tenth Duke of Ainsworth, Jeremy Maubrey was one of the ‘Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse’ and a cavalry officer known for his implacable nature. Jem always found a way to even the score with his saber. But what he wakes up to find on this particular morning requires revenge of a whole new order of magnitude.

Bath’s only female apothecary, Miss Prudence Haversham has dreamed of revenge against the duke who ruined her life nine years ago. Unfortunately, she made one simple mistake and mocked the wrong man indelibly. Now, Miss Haversham can only pray her innocent victim never discovers the guilty party.

A Shade of Vampire 34: A Sword of Chance

 Romance > Paranormal > Ghosts
Author: Bella Forrest
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.60

A Shade of Vampire 34: A Sword of Chance

It’s fight or die in the treacherous land of Nevertide…

Prepare to reunite with the Novaks in another heart-pounding adventure.

Bella Forrest is a lover of fantasy, romance, action, and mystery infused stories with twists you don’t see coming.

… See the rest of today ‘s Book Picks here on page 2Page 2

Subscribe to our daily free book picks.

Subscribe to our e-mail newsletter to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply