Beware of this Amazon phishing e-mail


Here’s a phishing e-mail making the rounds that I’ve received twice in the past week.

Here’s the full text:

Hello, I wanna ask you if you still have this item for sale,sorry for bothering you ,but i think is a error in this link ,send me an reply after you able to sell the product. ! Please let me know soon.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/browse/-/172282412312

Thank you.

Brian Petesburg.

The e-mail address displayed was BrianPetesburg@bellsouth.net. If you reply to the message, it goes to commmgr-autoreply@amazon.comt.

Of course this is a scammer hoping you’ll go to his Web site and enter your Amazon ID and password. Then all hell breaks loose with your account.

There are several things about this e-mail that tip you off that it’s a fraud. For one thing, the URL embedded in the e-mail wasn’t the one that appears in the text. The URL actually went to a rogue site:
http://210.233.10.229/wiz/www.amazon.com/gp/SignIn.html

(You can see the actual URL by moving your mouse over the URL displayed in the e-mail while looking at the bottom of your browser. This rogue site has been shut down, but this phisher probably is using a different one by now.)

Do you see any more telltale signs that this e-mail is from a phisher? Have you received one of these lately?

Here’s more information about Amazon phishing scams. At the bottom is a link for reporting these “spoof” e-mails.

Related posts:

  1. Marketing your online bookstore with e-mail
  2. Another Amazon seller survey spam alert?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

4 Comments

  1. Anonymous
    Posted March 31, 2007 at 11:16 am | Permalink

    I have noticed that most phishers type like they speak. A lot of phishing comes from other countries. While not all are so easy to see, Most of them have a lot of broken english or “ENGRISH” They try very well, But they always seem to mess up our language. I noticed broken english in your post also. Its a simple rule to avoid scammers though. “NEVER CLICK ON THE LINK IN THE EMAILS” Never give away your info. Always conduct business through the proper channels for the most protection.

  2. Anonymous
    Posted March 31, 2007 at 1:16 pm | Permalink

    RE: Last week’s topic (postal increase/amazon). I rec’d this reply from them.

    QUOTE: As far as the upcoming changes in the USPS shipping rates, I have
    forwarded your comments about the announced postal rates increase
    and the impact to you as a seller to the appropriate department
    within Amazon.com

    A decision has not yet been announced. As with previous rates
    increases, our announcement about any affect this will have on the
    shipping credits we give to sellers will most likely be posted to
    our Seller Announcement Board. You can view the Seller Announcement
    Board here:

    http://www.amazonsellercommunity.com/forums/forum.jspa?forumID=22

    Best regards,

    Nathan S.
    Amazon.com Seller Support

    I don’t believe I was blown off. I think they MUST be considering this matter. THEY don’t want to lose sellers either, I don’t think.
    Naively spoken.

    Debbie K.

  3. Anonymous
    Posted March 31, 2007 at 9:25 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for this headsup, Steve…have not had the phish email but may as the days go on…

  4. NWBookman
    Posted April 3, 2007 at 12:33 pm | Permalink

    There iss asimilar phishing email sent to Half.com sellers which talks about a “question from a customer” and then asks you to sign in to Half.com. That fooled me last week so I had to change my password.

    Dick Thurston

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • Archives

  • Meta