Free Kindle books & bargains for Sunday, February 11, 2018

False Impressions (Megan Scott/Michael Elliott Mystery Book 1)

  Mystery > Private Investigators
Author: Sandra Nikolai
FREE

False Impressions (Megan Scott/Michael Elliott Mystery Book 1)

Montreal ghostwriter Megan Scott falls under police suspicion when her husband and a female companion are found murdered. In what a Québec detective calls a crime of passion, startling evidence surfaces to also implicate Michael Elliott, a young investigative reporter who’d rather rub elbows with scumbags than live the posh lifestyle he inherited.

Clutched out of her comfort zone, Megan is flung into Michael’s dark world of criminal investigation. As they make a last-ditch attempt to prove their innocence, an elusive enemy closes in and threatens their lives. Who wants them out of the way and why?

The Wrong Todd

 Romance > Holidays
Author: Donna McDonald
FREE

The Wrong Todd

What is the craziest thing you would be willing to do for a friend?

After winning her bid at the bachelor auction, Sabine vows she is never doing another embarrassing favor for a friend. This is especially true for favors that involve spending large sums of money and buying men whose last names she doesn’t even know.

In twenty bachelors, Sabine maybe expected to find several Davids, Mikes, or Johns. But what were the odds of two Todds? And now what is she going to do on a very expensive date with the wrong one?

Vigilante Dead: A Kate Jones Thriller

  Thrillers > Crime
Author: D.V. Berkom
FREE

Vigilante Dead: A Kate Jones Thriller

PI Kate Jones lands the case of a lifetime: a young college student with no history of drug abuse dies of an overdose, and the parents come to Kate demanding answers. Soon, Seattle is reeling from dozens more deaths, all with the same chemical markers. At first, police assume that the victims are closet junkies who got hold of a bad combination, but after someone close to her becomes a victim, Kate believes something far more sinister is going on.

The deeper Kate digs, the more she uncovers about the deadly drug’s origins, forcing her to choose between doing what’s right…

Taking the Lead: Adventures of a Hollywood Dog Walker (LA Lights Book 2)

 Fiction > Humor & Satire
Author: Di Jones
FREE

Taking the Lead: Adventures of a Hollywood Dog Walker (LA Lights Book 2)

What would you do if you were an aspiring actress offered a part in a TV series in Los Angeles…but had to give up everything else important to you to achieve that dream?

Twenty-one-year-old Tessa Taylor drops out of college and leaves her home in Washington, DC, to pursue her lifelong ambition of becoming an actress, but her decision comes at a price. Tinseltown is tough, stardom elusive, and LA exorbitantly expensive.

When her dreams crumble, Tessa struggles. Her heart bruised, she compromises to make ends meet and tries one disastrous job after another.

The Freelancer: Finding Writing Jobs and Other Freelancing Ideas

 Entrepreneurship & Small Business
Author: James Coin
FREE

The Freelancer: Finding Writing Jobs and Other Freelancing Ideas

Years ago, it was not common ground to work one’s own hours as an entrepreneur. However, freelancing has made it possible to make money online, at home, anywhere and/or anytime you desire! Gone are the days where you’re limited to a 9-to-5 lifestyle of consistent monotony. Now, well into the 21st century, many are enjoying the freedom of being a freelancer.

This book explores the many ways that you can get a boost at becoming a freelancer. Although this is a great freelancing book for beginners, it is also a great source of additional information and tactics to improve the craft of those who already freelance regularly.

Confection Connection (Mina Kitchen Cozy Mystery Series – Book 3)

  Mystery > Cozy
Author: Lizz Lund
FREE

Confection Connection: Humorous Cozy Mystery - Funny Adventures of Mina Kitchen - with Recipes (Mina Kitchen Cozy Mystery Series - Book 3)

Valentine’s Day stinks – literally – after a shift at The Shrimp Shack, getting showered with a vat of marinara and being haunted by a messy ghost.

The romance holiday looms large for Mina Kitchen – a forty-something single without a boyfriend in sight, and a catering disorder to beat the band. Everyone else is all set: even her Swiffer-addicted neighbor Vito (the ex-leader of the Moils, the Jewish-Polish Family from Bumville, New Jersey) has a significant other. Who knew?

And then there’s her best friend Trixie. She’s got a steady boyfriend, and a full time job with plenty of OT, too. She’s even quit smoking! Except now she’s a jelly junkie. Well, not just jelly – any sweet will do.

3 Bodies and a Biscotti (Lexy Baker Book 4)

 Mystery > Cozy
Author: Leighann Dobbs
Regularly $2.99, Today $0.99

3 Bodies and a Biscotti (Lexy Baker Cozy Mystery Series Book 4)

There’s a serial killer on the loose. And Lexy Baker’s grandmother, Nans, could be the next victim.

The bodies are piling up at the Brook Ridge Falls Retirement Center. Healthy people are dropping like flies. And yet no one believes a murderer is on the loose… except for Lexy Baker and the troupe of iPad-toting grandmothers who live at the center.

When Lexy’s detective boyfriend, Jack, refuses to believe that foul play is involved, Lexy has no choice but to find the killer on her own.  Along with Nans and her gang of iPad-toting, mystery-solving grandmas, they use everything from hypnosis to high-tech gadgets to track down the killer.

 

What You Did Not Tell: A Russian Past and the Journey Home

 Biographies & Memoirs > Historical > Europe
Author: Mark Mazower
Regularly $12.99, Today $1.99

What You Did Not Tell: A Russian Past and the Journey Home

A warm and intimate memoir by an acclaimed historian that explores the European struggles of the twentieth century through the lives, hopes, and dreams of a single family—his own.

Uncovering their remarkable and moving stories, Mark Mazower recounts the sacrifices and silences that marked a generation and their descendants. It was a family which fate drove into the siege of Stalingrad, the Vilna ghetto, occupied Paris, and even into the ranks of the Wehrmacht. His British father was the lucky one, the son of Russian-Jewish emigrants who settled in London after escaping the Bolsheviks, civil war, and revolution.

The Tao of Bill Murray: Real-Life Stories of Joy, Enlightenment, and Party Crashing

 Biographies & Memoirs > Actors & Entertainers
Author: Gavin Edwards, R. Sikoryak
Regularly $11.99, Today $2.99

The Tao of Bill Murray: Real-Life Stories of Joy, Enlightenment, and Party Crashing

For the Bill Murray fan in all of us, this epic collection of “Bill Murray stories”—many reported for the first time here—distills a set of guiding principles out of his extraordinary ability to infuse the everyday with surprise, absurdity, and wonder.

No one will ever believe you.

New York Times bestselling author Gavin Edwards, like the rest of us, has always been fascinated with Bill Murray—in particular the beloved actor’s adventures off-screen, which rival his filmography for sheer entertainment value. Edwards traveled to the places where Murray has lived, worked, and partied, in search of the most outrageous and hilarious Bill Murray stories from the past four decades, many of which have never before been reported.

Cloud Atlas: A Novel

 Fantasy > Myths & Legends
Author: David Mitchell
Regularly $11.99, Today $3.49

Cloud Atlas: A Novel

A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Take Me Home: An Autobiography

 Biographies & Memoirs > Composers & Musicians
Author: John Denver, Arthur Tobier
Regularly $9.99, Today $0.99

Take Me Home: An Autobiography

In a career that spanned decades, John Denver earned international acclaim as a singer, songwriter, actor, and environmental activist. Songs like “Take Me Home, Country Roads,” “Rocky Mountain High,” and “Annie’s Song” have entered the canon of universal anthems, but at his start John Denver was a young man with little more than a fine voice, a guitar, and a dream. Growing up in a conservative military family, he was not expected to drop out of college and head to Los Angeles, where the music scene was flourishing. Nor was he expected to succeed. In Take Me Home, John Denver chronicles the experiences that shaped his life, while unraveling the rich, inner journey of a shy Midwestern boy whose uneasy partnership with fame has been one of the defining forces of his first fifty years.

… See the rest of today ‘s Book Picks here on page 2Page 2