Archive | November 24, 2018

Free Kindle books & bargains for Saturday, November 24, 2018

Tell your friends:

Later Gator (Southern Fried Sass Book 1)

Romantic Comedy > Fantasy
Author: Julia Mills, Love Spells
FREE

Later Gator (Southern Fried Sass Book 1)

Hairy Wart, LA, is where I landed.

Not only is it the Southern Fried Tofu capital of the world, but this blink-and-you-miss-it ‘burg with a population of Ninety-nine-point-five, (Do not ask.) and a mayor who happens to be a seven-foot Pink Bunny when the mood strikes, just might be the home of the craftiest chicken-napping, rock-wielding crazy killer I’ve ever come up against.

To say I have bitten off more than I can chew is like saying the Grand Canyon is a pothole. However, I absolutely refuse to admit defeat. Especially not with Sherriff Sexy Pants dogging my every step and making me all hot and bothered. Whoever said a Gator Shifter can’t make a couple yards of denim really, really happy they became a pair of Wranglers never met Beauregard St. Croix. He takes a bite outta crime in an up close and personal kinda way that I’m liking a little more every day.

The Breakers Series: Books 1-3

Science Fiction > Dystopian
Author: Edward W. Robertson
FREE

The Breakers Series: Books 1-3

In New York, Walt Lawson is about to lose his girlfriend Vanessa. In Los Angeles, Raymond and Mia James are about to lose their house. Within days, none of it will matter. A plague tears across the world, reducing New York to an open grave and LA to a chaotic wilderness of violence and fires. Civilization comes to an abrupt stop.

Just as the survivors begin to adapt to the aftermath, Walt learns the virus that ended humanity wasn’t created by humans. It was inflicted from outside. The colonists who sent it are ready to finish the job–and Earth’s survivors may be too few and too weak to resist.

A Worse Secret

Mystery > Hard-Boiled
Author: Harvey Church
FREE

A Worse Secret

Brennan Eastwood learns that his wife has a secret… but could it be worse than his own?

Some things, you never tell. Like Brennan’s past. He guards the story of the man he once was with a loyal determination that would make even the most top-secret government agencies proud.

Mondays are for Mayhem

When two NYPD detectives show up on his doorstep one Monday morning, Brennan fears that his perfect, ideal life is coming to an abrupt end. But when the detectives ask to speak with his wife instead, who is allegedly away on a business trip, Brennan comes up with a few questions of his own.

Forget Me Not (A Thrilling Suspense Novel) (Summit Lake Thriller Book 1)

Thrillers > Crime
Author: Kristen Middleton, K.L. Middleton, Cassie Alexandra
FREE

Forget Me Not (A Thrilling Suspense Novel) (Summit Lake Thriller Book 1)

When a deranged lunatic starts targeting single mom, Amanda Schultz, with threatening letters and “presents” on her doorstep, she turns to the police, who offer advice but no real help. At the mercy of a psychopath, Amanda realizes she’s in a game of cat-and-mouse, where the killer keeps changing the rules and the winner… is the only one left standing.

For fans of Nora Roberts, Sandra Brown, and Linda Howard…
Language, violence, and adult situations. – Warning – reference to sexual abuse but no graphic details.

The Wright Brothers: A History From Beginning to End

Transportation > Aviation > History
Author: Hourly History
FREE

The Wright Brothers: A History From Beginning to End

Wilbur and Orville Wright have gone down in history as pioneers of flight and the inventors of the first airplane. This is the story of how their mechanical interest in printing presses and bicycles led them towards finding solutions to the conundrum of flight. Find out how their methodological research and innovative ideas set them apart from other inventors, and learn about the newspaper editors and scientists’ reactions to the Wright brothers’ achievement—the slow transformation of skepticism and disbelief to amazement.

Downfall: A Brady Novel of Suspense

Thrillers & Suspense > Crime
Author: J. A. Jance
Regularly $6.99, Today $1.99

Downfall: A Brady Novel of Suspense

Arizona sheriff Joanna Brady returns in this outstanding new mystery set in the beautiful desert country of the Southwest.

With a baby on the way, sudden deaths in the family from which to recover, a re-election campaign looming, and a daughter heading off for college, Cochise County Sheriff Joanna Brady has her hands full when a puzzling new case hits her department, demanding every resource she has at her disposal.

Two women have fallen to their deaths from a small nearby peak, referred to by Bisbee locals as Geronimo.

I Will Always Write Back: How One Letter Changed Two Lives

Biographies & Memoirs > Social Activists
Author: Martin Ganda, Caitlin Alifirenka, Liz Welch
Regularly $8.99, Today $1.99

I Will Always Write Back: How One Letter Changed Two Lives

It started as an assignment. Everyone in Caitlin’s class wrote to an unknown student somewhere in a distant place.

Martin was lucky to even receive a pen-pal letter. There were only ten letters, and fifty kids in his class. But he was the top student, so he got the first one.

That letter was the beginning of a correspondence that spanned six years and changed two lives.

In this compelling dual memoir, Caitlin and Martin recount how they became best friends –and better people–through their long-distance exchange. Their story will inspire you to look beyond your own life and wonder about the world at large and your place in it.

People’s Republic

Thrillers & Suspense > Spies & Politics
Author: Kurt Schlichter
Regularly $8.99, Today $4.99

People's Republic

America’s growing political and cultural divisions have finally split the United States apart. Now, as the former blue states begin to collapse under the dead weight of their politically correct tyranny, a lethal operative haunted by his violent past undertakes one last mission to infiltrate and take out his target in the nightmarish city of Los Angeles, deep in the heart of the People’s Republic of North America.
National Review’s Jim Geraghty calls Kurt Schlichter’s “People’s Republic” “a surreal, fast-paced journey through a dramatically different America but less than a generation away. … Violent, imaginative, full of mordant humor and dark, gritty details, you won’t want to live in this People’s Republic…but you’ll feel a chill as you wonder how different our real future will be.”

Something Borrowed: A Novel

Fiction > Movie Tie-Ins
Author: Emily Giffin
Regularly $7.99, Today $1.99

Something Borrowed: A Novel

Rachel White is the consummate good girl. A hard-working attorney at a large Manhattan law firm and a diligent maid of honor to her charmed best friend Darcy, Rachel has always played by all the rules. Since grade school, she has watched Darcy shine, quietly accepting the sidekick role in their lopsided friendship. But that suddenly changes the night of her thirtieth birthday when Rachel finally confesses her feelings to Darcy’s fiance, and is both horrified and thrilled to discover that he feels the same way. As the wedding date draws near, events spiral out of control, and Rachel knows she must make a choice between her heart and conscience. In so doing, she discovers that the lines between right and wrong can be blurry, endings aren’t always neat, and sometimes you have to risk everything to be true to yourself.

Murder and Mayhem (Murder and Mayhem Series Book 1)

Romance > Multicultural
Author: Rhys Ford
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99

Murder and Mayhem (Murder and Mayhem Series Book 1)

Former cat burglar Rook Stevens stole many a priceless thing in the past, but he’s never been accused of taking a life—until now. It was one thing to find a former associate inside Potter’s Field, his pop culture memorabilia shop, but quite another to stumble across her dead body.

Detective Dante Montoya thought he’d never see Rook Stevens again—not after his former partner falsified evidence to entrap the jewelry thief and Stevens walked off scot-free. So when he tackled a fleeing murder suspect, Dante was shocked to discover the blood-covered man was none other than the thief he’d fought to put in prison and who still makes his blood sing.

In-N-Out Burger: A Behind-the-Counter Look at the Fast-Food Chain That Breaks All the Rules

Gastronomy > History
Author: Stacy Perman
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99

In-N-Out Burger: A Behind-the-Counter Look at the Fast-Food Chain That Breaks All the Rules

A behind-the-counter look at the fast-food chain that breaks all the rules, Stacy Perman’s In-N-Out Burger is the New York Times bestselling inside story of the family behind the California-based hamburger chain with a cult following large enough to rival the Grateful Dead’s. A juicy unauthorized history of a small business-turned-big business titan, In-N-Out Burger was named one of Fast Company magazine’s Best Business Books of 2009, and Fortune Small Business insists that it “should be required reading for family business owners, alongside Rich Cohen’s Sweet and Low and Thomas Mann’s Buddenbrooks.”

We Cannot Be Silent: Speaking Truth to a Culture Redefining Sex, Marriage, and the Very Meaning of Right and Wrong

Religion & Spirituality
Author: R. Albert Mohler Jr.
Regularly $5.99, Today $2.99

We Cannot Be Silent: Speaking Truth to a Culture Redefining Sex, Marriage, and the Very Meaning of Right and Wrong

Twenty years ago, not one nation on earth had legal same-sex marriage. Now, access to same-sex marriage is increasingly seen as a basic human right. In a matter of less than a generation, western cultures have experienced a moral revolution.

Dr. R. Albert Mohler examines how this transformation occurred, revealing the underlying cultural shifts behind this revolution: the acceptance of divorce culture, liberation of sex from reproduction, the prevalence of heterosexual cohabitation, the normalization of homosexuality, and the rise of the transgender movement. He then offers a deep look at how the Bible and Christian moral tradition provide a comprehensive understanding upon which Christians can build their personal lives, their marriages, church ministry, and cultural engagement.

The Primal Kitchen Cookbook: Eat Like Your Life Depends On It!

Cookbooks, Food & Wine > Special Diet > Paleo
Author: Mark Sisson
Regularly $26.95, Today $3.99

The Primal Kitchen Cookbook: Eat Like Your Life Depends On It!

Mark Sisson, bestselling author, award-winning blogger, and founder of PRIMAL KITCHEN, teams up with over 50 leading icons in the primal community to amass 130 mouth-watering recipes in this ultimate paleo recipe collection.

Learn how to whip up Primal Kitchen’s uncompromisingly delicious, high quality, nutrient dense sauces and dressings at home to pack healthy fats, phytonutrients, and superfoods into every meal.

With recipe contributions from Melissa Hartwig, Robb Wolf, Chris Kresser, Sarah Fragoso, Pete Evans, Tony Horton, Laird Hamilton, Cassy Joy Garcia, George Bryant, and so many more, The PRIMAL KITCHEN™ Cookbook makes cooking with your favorite paleo personalities right in your own primal kitchen a reality!


… See the rest of today ‘s Book Picks here on page 2Page 2

Advertisements