Archive | November 19, 2018

Free Kindle books & bargains for Monday, November 19, 2018

Tell your friends:

The Christmas Wish (The Canadays of Montana Book 3)

Romance > Holidays
Author: Barbara Ankrum
FREE

The Christmas Wish (The Canadays of Montana Book 3)

Event planner Eve Canaday and her secret crush, Dr. Ben Tyler, are unexpectedly drafted to help a little girl fulfill her late mother’s wish—a magical Christmas to create some happy memories. Eve sees this opportunity as a sign; Ben, as a glitch in his plan to leave Marietta behind for good.

As the trio checks off the to-do list of Christmas fun, Ben’s ‘bah-humbug’ opinion of the holiday fades, along with ideas about keeping his distance from Eve. Getting involved is the last thing he wants to do but, alas, there’s no accounting for cosmic interference.

A Nancy McGovern Cozy Mystery Sampler: A 6 Book Box Set

Mystery > Cozy
Author: Nancy McGovern
FREE

A Nancy McGovern Cozy Mystery Sampler: A 6 Book Box Set

Nora Newberry! Rachel Rowan! Bluebell Knopps! Dani Hedley

You’ll meet Nancy McGovern’s whole gang with this 6 book sampler set!

Containing the 1st books from each of her popular series, you’ll be ready to jump into all of the fun, often tasty cozy mystery adventures Nancy has been concocting since she began publishing in 2016!

Each of these “1st books” leads to a series containing between 2 & 12 stories in total and all of the remaining books in each series are available for FREE with Kindle Unlimited, either separately or in box sets! The biggest challenge will be choosing which to read next!

Dreaming of Hanukah

Fiction > Holidays
Author: Joanne Dannon
FREE

Dreaming of Hanukah

Curl up by the fire with a sufganyiot (donut) or two, with your favourite drink and celebrate the magic of Hanukah with these two linked, heart-warming stories about love, hope and family.

These sweet novellas are a perfect way to unwind in the busy holiday season, so pick up your copy today!

A Magical Hanukah in New York

When falling in love isn’t as easy as falling in love.

Lisa Sassoon has shunned the scandal of her loser ex-boyfriend cheating on her by escaping to New York. Gabe Olivari, entrepreneur and savvy business New Yorker, can’t let go of the pain of losing his best friend.

Can a dash of Hanukah magic help Lisa and Gabe realise that sparkling dates and dreamy kisses can lead to more? Perhaps even a lifetime of happiness?

Pretty Monster

Science Fiction > Dystopian
Author: Jill Somers
FREE

Pretty Monster

Ten years have passed since the mysterious event that occurred in New York City, turning hundreds of civilians into deviants – a strange and powerful new breed of humanity. Most of these creatures have been rounded up and sent to the deviant prison known as Devil’s Island. Quinn Harper – known to those who both fear and idolize her as The Siren – is one of the last free deviants.

When she faces a choice – surrender and go willingly to Devil’s Island, or watch her best friend die – she makes the only one she can. But she will soon learn that Devil’s Island is not the prison the world believes it to be.

The Supernatural Bounty Hunter Files: (Special Edition, Books 1 thru 5)

Fantasy > Action & Adventure
Author: Craig Halloran
FREE

The Supernatural Bounty Hunter Files: (Special Edition, Books 1 thru 5): Urban Fantasy Shifter Series (Smoke Special Edition)

The Clock Is Ticking And The Fate Of Humanity Is At Stake

Craig Halloran, master of the fantastic and bestselling author of the Darkslayer and the Chronicles of the Dragon series, is back with Smoke Rising, the first book in an exciting new urban fantasy series set in Washington, DC. Fans of The X Files and Supernatural, and the ever-growing army of devoted Halloran readers will be thrilled to meet the wildly unpredictable monster-hunter John Smoke and his tough and beautiful FBI handler, Sidney Shaw, as they pursue a shadow conspiracy through the dark, secret underbelly of the nation’s capital.

The Only Best Place (Holmes Crossing Book 1)

Contemporary Fiction > Christian
Author: Carolyne Aarsen
FREE

The Only Best Place (Holmes Crossing Book 1)

Forced to move back to her husband’s country hometown, she’ll need family, forgiveness, and faith to save their marriage.

As a loving mother and wife, Leslie VandeKeere has overcome most of her own troubled childhood.

But when her husband Dan loses his business and starts receiving flirtatious texts from a co-worker, their dream home fund and their marriage fall on hard times. To keep the family afloat, Leslie reluctantly agrees to move back to Dan’s childhood farmhouse in Holmes Crossing…

With her lack of a religious upbringing, Leslie fears seeing her husband slip back into his tight knit family’s Christian ways. As she watches wedge after wedge come in between her and Dan, an unexpected emergency makes her wonder if her dream has become a nightmare.

The Good Luck of Right Now: A Novel

Fiction > Humor & Satire
Author: Matthew Quick
Regularly $10.99, Today $1.99

The Good Luck of Right Now: A Novel

From Matthew Quick, the New York Times bestselling author of The Silver Linings Playbook, comes The Good Luck of Right Now, a funny and tender story about family, friendship, grief, acceptance, and Richard Gere—an entertaining and inspiring tale that will leave you pondering the rhythms of the universe and marveling at the power of kindness and love.

For thirty-eight years, Bartholomew Neil has lived with his mother. When she gets sick and dies, he has no idea how to be on his own. His redheaded grief counselor, Wendy, says he needs to find his flock and leave the nest. But how does a man whose whole life has been grounded in his mom, Saturday mass, and the library learn how to fly?

The Cole Trilogy: The Physician, Shaman, and Matters of Choice

Fiction > Medical
Author: Noah Gordon
Regularly $14.99, Today $3.99

The Cole Trilogy: The Physician, Shaman, and Matters of Choice

Noah Gordon’s acclaimed trilogy, spanning one thousand years in the lives of one uncommonly gifted family
In The Physician, an orphan in eleventh-century London, Robert Cole, becomes a fast-talking swindler. As he matures, his strange gift—an acute sensitivity to impending death—never leaves him, and he yearns to become a healer. Arab madrassas are the only authentic medical schools, and he makes his perilous way to Persia. Christians are barred from Muslim schools, but by claiming he is a Jew, he studies under the world’s most renowned physician, Avicenna. Cole’s journey and love for a woman who must struggle against her only rival—medicine—make The Physician a riveting modern classic.

Chestnut Street

Fiction > Humor & Satire > British & Irish
Author: Maeve Binchy
Regularly $9.99, Today $2.99

Chestnut Street

Across town from St. Jarlath’s Crescent, featured in Minding Frankie, is Chestnut Street, where neighbors come and go. Behind their closed doors we encounter very different people with different life circumstances, occupations, and sensibilities. Some of the unforgettable characters lovingly brought to life by Binchy are Bucket Maguire, the window cleaner, who must do more than he bargained for to protect his son; Nessa Byrne, whose aunt visits from  America every summer and turns the house—and Nessa’s world—upside down; Lilian, the generous girl with the big heart and a fiancé whom no one approves of; Melly, whose gossip about the neighbors helps Madame Magic, a self-styled fortune-teller, get everyone on the right track; Dolly, who discovers more about her perfect mother than she ever wanted to know; and Molly, who learns the cure for sleeplessness from her pen pal from Chicago . . .

Between the World and Me

Sociology > Discrimination & Racism
Author: Ta-Nehisi Coates
Regularly $12.99, Today $2.99

Between the World and Me

In a profound work that pivots from the biggest questions about American history and ideals to the most intimate concerns of a father for his son, Ta-Nehisi Coates offers a powerful new framework for understanding our nation’s history and current crisis. Americans have built an empire on the idea of “race,” a falsehood that damages us all but falls most heavily on the bodies of black women and men—bodies exploited through slavery and segregation, and, today, threatened, locked up, and murdered out of all proportion. What is it like to inhabit a black body and find a way to live within it? And how can we all honestly reckon with this fraught history and free ourselves from its burden?

Young Man You’ll Never Die: A World War II Fighter Pilot In North Africa, Burma & Malaya

History > Military > World War I
Author: Merton Navdler
Regularly $5.99, Today $1.30

Young Man You'll Never Die: A World War II Fighter Pilot In North Africa, Burma & Malaya

Merton Naydler joined the RAF at the age of nineteen and served for the next six years until May 1946. He flew Spitfires and Hurricanes during a tour of duty that took him to North Africa, Burma and Malaya. This well written and extremely entertaining memoir portrays wartime life in the desert environment where sand and flies and life under canvas made living and flying a daunting experience. When the author was posted to Burma he was filled with ‘a deep and genuine dread’. After a long uncomfortable trip he joined 11 Squadron and was now faced with Japanese Zeroes in combat over dense tropical jungle rather than Bf 109s over a barren desert terrain. ‘Daytime flying was hot as hell, the humidity intense’ – the author’s description of his new posting that goes on to describe life in ‘Death Valley’, named because of the likeliness of falling victim to tropical disease rather than enemy aircraft.

Night Train to Memphis (Vicky Bliss Mysteries Book 5)

Mystery > Women Sleuths
Author: Elizabeth Peters
Regularly $5.99, Today $2.99

Night Train to Memphis (Vicky Bliss Mysteries Book 5)

An assistant curator of Munich’s National Museum, Vicky Bliss is no expert on Egypt, but she does have a Ph.D. in solving crimes. So when an intelligence agency offers her a luxury Nile cruise if she’ll help solve a murder and stop a heist of Egyptian antiquities, all 5’11” of her takes the plunge. Vicky suspects the authorities really want her to lead them to her missing lover, the art thief and master of disguises she knows only as “Sir John Smythe.” And right in the shadow of the Sphinx she spots him. . . with his new flame. Vicky is so furious at this romantic stab-in-the-back, not to mention the sudden arrival of her meddling boss, Herr Dr. Schmidt, that she may overlook a danger as old as the pharaohs and as unchanging. . . a criminal who hides behind a mask of charm while moving in for the kill.

Stick a Fork in Me: A Novel

Fiction > Humor & Satire
Author: Dan Jenkins
Regularly $5.99, Today $1.99

Stick a Fork in Me: A Novel

A rollicking, no-holds-barred tour of the world of big-time college sports from “the best sportswriter in America” (Larry King).

Pete Wallace, a good old boy from Texas, paid his dues coaching football on obscure campuses in the boondocks of America until he landed the athletic director’s job at Western Ohio University. For 15 years, he has steadily and skillfully guided the school into the high society of major college sports.

But now Pete, fed up with politically correct campus culture and babysitting fragile egos, is retiring from the “arms race.”

Why You Do the Things You Do: The Secret to Healthy Relationships

Christian Living > Dating & Relationships
Author: Tim Clinton, Gary Sibcy
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99

Why You Do the Things You Do: The Secret to Healthy Relationships

In this transformational book, the authors have used ground-breaking research to develop four primary patterns of relating to one another that shed light on our actions–and how we can learn to love and be loved even better.


… See the rest of today ‘s Book Picks here on page 2Page 2

Advertisements