Free Kindle books & bargains for Sunday, December 17, 2017

Tell your friends:

Down To The Needle

 Mysteries & Thrillers > Law & Crime
Author: Mary Deal
FREE

Down To The Needle

From the day her five-year-old was abducted, Abigail Fisher vowed never to stop looking until her daughter was safely back home.

But despite multiple searches, twenty-three years have passed without a trace of Becky Ann. When Abigail learns that death row inmate Megan Winnaker is the same age as her daughter, she begins to wonder if the kidnapper had Becky’s Ann’s face surgically altered to prevent identification.

Megan Winnaker maintains her innocence, but faces capital punishment if she loses her final appeal. As Abigail launches her own investigation to find out if Megan is truly her daughter, someone wants to stop her in her tracks.

Death in Room 7 (Pine Lake Inn Cozy Mystery Book 1)

 Mystery > Cozy
Author: K.J. Emrick
FREE

Death in Room 7 (Pine Lake Inn Cozy Mystery Book 1)

Adelle Powers, or Dell as she is known around the town of Lakeshore, is living her dream life. She and her best friend Rosie Ryan are owners of the wonderfully quirky Pine Lake Inn, a very popular Australian tourist destination. Running her own inn is the only thing she has ever wanted to do and it is her pride and joy.

So when Dell’s friend Jessica calls to say she’s coming for a visit Dell is ecstatic and can’t wait to show it off to her friend. Surprisingly Dell finds that Rosie is less than thrilled about the visit and can’t understand why. They were all such good friends, or so she thought.

It would seem that Rosie may know something about Jessica’s past that Dell doesn’t. Some sort of secret that Rosie is reluctant to share with her. When Jessica is found dead in her room the following day it would appear that her secret past may have finally caught up with her.

Survive (Cascade Book 1)

 Science Fiction > Military
Author: Phil Maxey
FREE

Survive (Cascade Book 1)

Being locked in a military cell was Zach’s world, until the world ended.

A group of ex-military try to survive and make sense of a post-apocalyptic world destroyed by unimaginable creatures, while dealing with their own dark pasts.

300 Miles to Galveston

 Science Fiction > Post-Apocalyptic
Author: R. L. Wiedeman
FREE

300 Miles to Galveston

In 2037, a father and daughter travel from Dallas to Galveston, driven by a shortwave radio message. In hope of rescue, they risk their lives to brave the 300 mile journey down a highway littered with abandoned cars and stalked by murderous gangs. They have nothing but an empty gun, two walking sticks, and each other.

Charmed by the Bartender (Modern Love Book 1)

 Romantic Comedy
Author: Piper Rayne
FREE

Charmed by the Bartender (Modern Love Book 1)

Who knew sleeping with the enemy could be this fun? Was the one night stand a good idea? Well, no. Probably not in retrospect.

In my defense I had just moved back into my grandparent’s house, I’d lost my dream job, and a guy on Tinder had stood me up. It was like life had suddenly stamped ‘LOSER’ on my forehead.

So when the guy behind the bar started giving me THE look…you know, the one that promised I’d be screaming his name into the wee hours of the morning? When that guy also has the perfect amount of scruff on his chiseled chin, biceps bulging out of his t-shirt, and a cocky grin you knew he’d earned in the sack…when he gives you that look, you don’t bother to figure out what your six degrees of separation are. You jump on that horse and ride it!

Hercule Poirot’s Christmas: A Hercule Poirot Mystery (Hercule Poirot series Book 20)

  Mystery > Traditional Detectives
Author: Agatha Christie
Regularly $9.99, Today $2.99

Hercule Poirot's Christmas: A Hercule Poirot Mystery (Hercule Poirot series Book 20)

In Hercule Poirot’s Christmas, the holidays are anything but merry when a family reunion is marred by murder—and the notoriously fastidious investigator is quickly on the case.

Christmas Eve, and the Lee family’s reunion is shattered by a deafening crash of furniture and a high-pitched wailing scream. Upstairs, the tyrannical Simeon Lee lies dead in a pool of blood, his throat slashed.

When Hercule Poirot offers to assist, he finds an atmosphere not of mourning but of mutual suspicion. It seems everyone had their own reason to hate the old man. . . .

Damaged: The Heartbreaking True Story of a Forgotten Child

 Parenting & Relationships > Adoption
Author: Cathy Glass
Regularly $5.99, Today $0.99

Damaged: The Heartbreaking True Story of a Forgotten Child

Although Jodie is only eight years old, she is violent, aggressive, and has already been through numerous foster families. Her last hope is Cathy Glass…

Cathy, an experienced foster carer, is pressured into taking Jodie as a new placement. Jodie’s challenging behaviour has seen off five carers in four months but Cathy decides to take her on to protect her from being placed in an institution.

Jodie arrives, and her first act is to soil herself, and then wipe it on her face, grinning wickedly. Jodie meets Cathy’s teenage children, and greets them with a sharp kick to the shins. That night, Cathy finds Jodie covered in blood, having cut her own wrist, and smeared the blood over her face.

The Withdrawing Room (Sarah Kelling & Max Bittersohn Mysteries Series Book 2)

 Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
Author: Charlotte MacLeod
Regularly $9.99, Today $1.99

The Withdrawing Room (Sarah Kelling & Max Bittersohn Mysteries Series Book 2)

Death pays a visit to Sarah Kelling’s Boston boardinghouse in this cozy mystery from the bestselling author of the Peter Shandy series.
Though the inheritance from her dearly departed Alexander was meant to set Sarah Kelling up for life, it vanishes quickly in the face of hounding from charitable organizations and the IRS. Facing the loss of her stately Back Bay brownstone, Sarah opens her home to lodgers—deciding she prefers a boardinghouse to the poorhouse. Soon she is cooking meals and serving tea for a cast of quirky residents, a cozy little family that would be quite happy were it not for the unpleasant presence of a certain Barnwell Augustus Quiffen—a man so rude that no one really minds when he is squashed beneath a subway car.

The Alzheimer’s Prevention Food Guide: A Quick Nutritional Reference

 Internal Medicine > Neurology
Author: Sue Stillman Linja RDN LD, SeAnne Safaii-Waite PhD RDN LD
Regularly $6.99, Today $0.99

The Alzheimer's Prevention Food Guide: A Quick Nutritional Reference to Foods That Nourish and Protect the Brain From Alzheimer's Disease

More than 5 million Americans are currently living with Alzheimer’s disease. With no known cure, the thought of receiving an Alzheimer’s diagnosis can be terrifying. But you can reduce your risk of developing Alzheimer’s disease by making smart nutritional choices—and this book will show you exactly how.

For authors Sue Stillman Linja and SeAnne Safaii-Waite, the devastation of Alzheimer’s is all too familiar. They both witnessed the progression of Alzheimer’s in their mothers. As registered dietitian nutritionists and researchers, they’ve examined all of the evidence-based research on diet and Alzheimer’s in order to offer a simple and practical dietary approach to protecting the brain from Alzheimer’s.

With The Alzheimer’s Prevention Food Guide, Sue and SeAnne show you how to start eating for total brain health before it’s too late to prevent the development of Alzheimer’s disease.

The Complete BY THE SEA Series Boxed Set

 Historical Romance
Author: Antoinette Stockenberg
Regularly $5.99, Today $0.99

The Complete BY THE SEA Series Boxed Set

In the tradition of Upstairs, Downstairs and Downton Abbey, BY THE SEA is a four-book series that sweeps from the Gilded Age through the Gatsby Era’s Roaring Twenties and then on to the Great Depression, culminating nearly a century later in Newport, Rhode Island, wealthy and alluring “City by the Sea.” Set against a backdrop of mansions, the glorious America’s Cup Yacht Races, and new money, the series traces the passions and adventures of three families from three different classes.

Book One: TESS. From the wild decadence of late nineteenth-century Newport comes the tale of Tess Moran, a beautiful Irish housemaid in one of the grand summer “cottages,” who makes a dark bargain with a man of commanding wealth — and falls in love in the bargain.

Not Taco Bell Material

 Humor > Essays
Author: Adam Carolla
Regularly $7.99, Today $3.99

Not Taco Bell Material

Funnyman Adam Carolla is known for two things: hilarious rants about things that drive him crazy and personal stories about everything from his hardscrabble childhood to his slacker friends to the hypocrisy of Hollywood. He tackled rants in his first book, and now he tells his best stories and debuts some never-before-heard tales as well. Organized by the myriad “dumps” Carolla called home—through the flophouse apartments he rented in his twenties, up to the homes he personally renovated after achieving success in Hollywood—the anecdotes here follow Adam’s journey and the hilarious pitfalls along the way.

Adam Carolla started broke and blue collar and has now been on the Hollywood scene for over fifteen years, yet he never lost his underdog demeanor.

Dingo Firestorm: The Greatest Battle of the Rhodesian Bush War

 History > Africa
Author: Ian Pringle
Regularly $4.99, Today $1.99

Dingo Firestorm: The Greatest Battle of the Rhodesian Bush War

On 23 November 1977, an armada of helicopters and airplanes took off from Rhodesian airbases and crossed the border into Mozambique. Their objective: to attack the headquarters of the Zimbabwe African National Liberation Army, where thousands of enemy forces were concentrated. Codenamed Operation Dingo, the raid was planned to coincide with a meeting of Robert Mugabe and his war council at the targeted HQ. It would be the biggest conflict of the Rhodesian Bush War. In this fascinating account, Ian Pringle describes the political and military backdrop leading up to the operation, and he tells the story of the battle through the eyes of key personalities who planned, led and participated in it. Using his own experience as a jet and helicopter pilot and skydiver, he recreates the battle in detail, explaining the performance of men and machines in the unfolding drama of events.

… See the rest of today’s Book Picks here on page 2Page 2

Subscribe to our daily free book picks.

Subscribe to our e-mail newsletter to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Advertisements