Free Kindle books & bargains for Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Perfume Therapy

 Romantic Comedy
Author: Kirsty McManus
FREE

Perfume Therapy

Chloe Beech is all set for a two-week holiday in Thailand with her sister Mia. Sure, she’s leaving behind an office that doesn’t seem to be able to run without her, and Mia has invited a bunch of her narcissistic friends along to join them, but a holiday is a holiday, right?

Wrong. Pickpocketed on her first night and separated from everyone, Chloe soon finds herself stranded in the back streets of Bangkok. Fortunately, her saviour arrives in the form of charismatic perfumer Daniel Richards, whose Scottish accent and amiable nature immediately put her at ease.

Mad For Love (Highland Brides Book 1)

 Historical Romance > Scottish
Author: Elizabeth Essex
FREE

Mad For Love (Highland Brides Book 1)
SET A THIEF…
Rory Cathcart’s appreciation of the exquisite makes him the perfect man to expose forgeries and root out fraud in London’s tempestuous art world. But when his latest investigation into forged paintings puts him squarely in Mignon du Blois’ shaky sights, he finds himself deep in trouble, and captured by something more powerful than mere beauty.

The Secret Dead (London Bones Book 1)

 Mystery > Supernatural > Ghosts
Author: SW Fairbrother
FREE

The Secret Dead (London Bones Book 1)

Vivia Brisk knows about the dead. She should. She’s died enough times.

Vivia is a hag, one of the last of her race, and can die, visit the underworld, and return at will. She loves her job helping London’s most vulnerable supernaturals, even if her colleague Malcolm drives her round the bend on a daily basis.

Then Malcolm is outed as a zombie, and along with his teenage son, flees the police. When Malcolm is captured, he is only able to pass on one message before his dead brain degrades completely: ‘He killed me.’

A Shining Star

  Romance > Inspirational
Author: R. Castro
FREE

A Shining Star

After the death of her beloved Miss Taylor, Cali Malone found herself at a crossroads in her young life. She’d already suffered more than seemed realistic at her sixteen years of age. Still, she managed to find the strength from within, held onto her unwavering faith and looked toward the future. A future she did not see coming.

Now, she faced the choice to chase her career-driven dreams or continuing at the very place that had offered her hope when she was just nine years old. What she never saw coming was love. A notion she’d chalked off for everyone but herself.

The Zero Patient: (A Dystopian Sci-Fi Thriller)

 Science Fiction > Cyberpunk
Author: Harmon Cooper, George C. Hopkins
FREE

The Zero Patient: (A Dystopian Sci-Fi Thriller)

Sterling is a gambler with his family’s lives at stake. Halo is a Goddess with a troubling secret. Hunter is a religious fanatic with an unquenchable thirst for human flesh.

The Book is the text that separates the people of the Canyon. It is the reason they fight in the War Zone, the reason they pray, the reason they live, the reason they die.

It is the reason they never ask questions.

Mobsters and Lobsters (A Hooked & Cooked Cozy Mystery Series Book 2)

 Mystery > Cozy > Culinary
Author: Lyndsey Cole
FREE

Mobsters and Lobsters (A Hooked & Cooked Cozy Mystery Series Book 2)

Hannah Holiday knew it would be hard to get her great aunt’s ocean side cottage business booming again, but she didn’t know she would also have to deal with the mob. With guests arriving, Hannah thinks she is headed in the right direction to fulfill her dream. Until everything starts to go wrong.

With the disappearance of a guest, Hannah searches for answers to keep her business afloat. Instead, she finds more questions that put her sister, Ruby, and Ruby’s daughter, Olivia, in grave danger. It only gets worse with the arrival of many less-than-respectable—but also interesting—guests, who all want to be first to find a buried treasure.

The Goldilocks Enigma: Why Is the Universe Just Right for Life?

 Science & Math > Astronomy & Space Science
Author: Paul Davies
Regularly $13.99, Today $1.99

The Goldilocks Enigma: Why Is the Universe Just Right for Life?

The Goldilocks Enigma is Paul Davies’s eagerly awaited return to cosmology, the successor to his critically acclaimed bestseller The Mind of God. Here he tackles all the “big questions,” including the biggest of them all: Why does the universe seem so well adapted for life?

In his characteristically clear and elegant style, Davies shows how recent scientific discoveries point to a perplexing fact: many different aspects of the cosmos, from the properties of the humble carbon atom to the speed of light, seem tailor-made to produce life. A radical new theory says it’s because our universe is just one of an infinite number of universes, each one slightly different. Our universe is bio-friendly by accident—we just happened to win the cosmic jackpot.

The Cyberiad

 Science Fiction > Exploration
Author: Stanislaw Lem
Regularly $13.00, Today $1.99

The Cyberiad

Trurl and Klaupacius are constructor robots who try to out-invent each other. They travel to the far corners of the cosmos to take on freelance problem-solving jobs, with dire consequences for their employers.

“The most completely successful of his books . . . here Lem comes closest to inventing a real universe” (Boston Globe). Illustrations by Daniel Mr—z. Translated by Michael Kandel.

The Paris Vendetta (Cotton Malone Book 5)

 Thrillers > Conspiracies
Author: Steve Berry
Regularly $9.99, Today $2.99

The Paris Vendetta: A Novel (Cotton Malone Book 5)

When Napoleon Bonaparte died in exile in 1821, he took to the grave a powerful secret. As general and emperor, he had stolen immeasurable riches from palaces, national treasuries, and even the Knights of Malta and the Vatican. In his final days, his British captors hoped to learn where the loot lay hidden. But he told them nothing, and in his will he made no mention of the treasure. Or did he?

Former Justice Department operative Cotton Malone isn’t looking for trouble when it comes knocking at his Copenhagen bookshop. Actually, it breaks and enters in the form of an American Secret Service agent with a pair of assassins on his heels.

Animal Liberation: The Definitive Classic of the Animal Movement

 Philosophy > Ethics & Morality
Author: Peter Singer
Regularly $17.99, Today $1.99

Animal Liberation: The Definitive Classic of the Animal Movement

First published in 1975, Animal Liberation created a sensation upon its release, shaking the world’s philosophical and animal-protection circles to their cores. Now, forty years later, Peter Singer’s landmark work still looms large as a foundational and canonical text of animal advocacy. Arguing that all beings capable of suffering deserve equal consideration, Singer contends that the only justifiable treatment of animals is that which maximizes good and minimizes suffering. In examining the cruelty of factory farming and the exploitation, both commercial and scientific, of laboratory animals, he identifies a kind of “ethical blindness” and calls for political action.

Throb

 Romance > Contemporary
Author: Vi Keeland, Caitlin Alexander, Scott Hoover
Regularly $3.99, Today $0.99

Throb

Eight weeks ago I signed a contract. One that seemed like a good idea at the time. A handsome bachelor, luxury accommodations, and a chance to win a prize my family desperately needed. There were some rules though. Lots of them actually. Follow the script, no dating, sex, or disclosing the terms of the deal. After my self-imposed moratorium on men the last year, it wouldn’t be hard to live up to my end of the bargain…so I thought. Until I realized the deal I’d made was with the devil…and I was in love with his dirty-talking brother.

The 30% Solution

 Business & Money > Organizational Behavior
Author: Lewena Bayer
Regularly $9.99, Today $0.99

The 30% Solution

The 30% Solution – How Civility at Work Increases Retention, Engagement and Profitability, provides essential information, facts, insights from the field, and practical tips related to the business of civility. The book represents a ready-to-use tool kit with practical applications for: Business consultants Performance and productivity analysts Workplace trainers Social and communication training facilitators Customer service experts Business owners, managers, supervisors, and individuals who want to build a better workplace.

Running from the Devil: A Novel

 Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
Author: Jamie Freveletti
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99

Running from the Devil: A Novel

A high-octane debut thriller in the tradition of James Rollins, Lee Child, and Daniel Silva,Running From the Devil by Jaime Freveletti starts racing on page one and never slows down for a minute until it crosses the finish line. Lee Child calls it, “Just terrific—full of thrills and tradecraft, pace and peril,” and anyone who craves the adrenaline rush of smart, exceptional thriller fiction will love Running From the Devil and its strong, compelling heroine Emma Caldwell.

… See the rest of today’s Book Picks here on page 2Page 2

Subscribe to our daily free book picks.

Subscribe to our e-mail newsletter to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply