Free Kindle books & bargains for Saturday, August 12, 2017

Never Say Spy (The Never Say Spy Series Book 1)

 Mystery > Women Sleuths
Author: Diane Henders
FREE

Never Say Spy (The Never Say Spy Series Book 1)

Despite her penchant for weapons and ripe language, Aydan Kelly’s resumé reads ‘bookkeeper’, not ‘badass’. She’s leaving the city to fulfill her dream of rural tranquillity when she gets carjacked by a man who shouldn’t exist.

When RCMP officer John Kane kills her would-be abductor, Aydan thinks her troubles are over. But Kane’s investigation implicates her in an international espionage plot, and criminal charges become the least of her worries when she’s targeted by the very spies Kane suspects her of aiding.

Pity her enemies. Because nobody’s tougher than a middle-aged woman who wants her dream back.

Louisiana Hotshot: A Humorous New Orleans Murder Mystery; Talba Wallis

Mystery > Women Sleuths
Author: Julie Smith
FREE

Louisiana Hotshot: A Humorous New Orleans Murder Mystery; Talba Wallis #1 (The Talba Wallis PI Series)

Confirmed grump Eddie Valentino placed the ad. Hotshot twenty-something Talba Wallis knew exactly how to answer it.

And thus was born the dynamic duo of New Orleans private detectives, one cynical, sixty-five-year-old Luddite white dude with street smarts, and one young, bright-eyed, Twenty-First century African-American female poet, performance artist, mistress of disguise, and computer jock extraordinaire. Think Queen Latifah and Danny DeVito.

In Louisiana Hotshot, their job is to hunt down a sociopath and pedophile who’s molested the fourteen-year-old daughter of their client, hangs out on the ragged edges of the rap and recording industries, and has more powerful allies than a Cabinet member.

A Love by Any Measure

 Historical Fiction > Regency
Author: Killian McRae
FREE

A Love by Any Measure

August Grayson has secretly dreamt of the girl living on his family’s Irish estate since childhoods spent together in Killarney. Now a proper Lord of the British Empire, he knows there’s no place for Maeve in his world. Still, if only…

Maeve O’Connor has nothing but her good name, which proves just enough to win a proposal to a good, Irish lad – for whom she feels nothing. Until the wedding, however, she’s in dire straits. Rent on the cottage she and her father share is due, but there simply isn’t the money to pay. Driven to desperation, Maeve hopes Lord Grayson, her childhood-chum-turned-dashing-English-rogue, will prove lenient when she comes seeking clemency.

Wrath: A Dark Billionaire Romance (Empire Sin)

  Women’s Fiction > Romance
Author: Isabella Starling, John Hudspith
FREE

Wrath: A Dark Billionaire Romance (Empire Sin)

I want my vengeance.
I want him to feel my WRATH.
I don’t want to fall for him. I don’t want to love a killer.
An inked, handsome as sin monster in an expensive suit.

He ruined my childhood.
He’s the reason my family fell apart.
He just bought me and took my virginity in front of my stepfather…

He wants me to be perfect little girl for him.
I know this won’t last forever.
But there are only two ways for it to end.

A Match Made in Heritage View

 Romance > Contemporary
Author: Annie Stiles
FREE

A Match Made in Heritage View

Despite having been raised by a man-eating, social-climbing mother, Genevieve Garnier is a hopeless romantic. She has successfully parlayed her sentimental nature into a prestigious Manhattan wedding planning business, but cannot make it down the aisle herself.

As another hectic wedding season winds down, Gen finds herself burned out and at a crossroads in life. She retreats to the charming Hudson Valley town of Heritage View to reinvent herself as girl-next-door “Jane,” complete with a charming cottage and apple pies baking in the oven. Gen is determined to simplify her life in Heritage View and keep her wedding business humming, without letting the two worlds collide. Then Michael Carlisle waltzes in and turns her plans upside down.

Lust, Money & Murder (Books 1, 2 & 3) (Free Book 1): A Female Secret Service Agent Takes on an International Criminal

Thrillers & Suspense > Crime
Author: Mike Wells
FREE

Lust, Money & Murder (Books 1, 2 & 3) (Free Book 1): A Female Secret Service Agent Takes on an International Criminal (Lust, Money & Murder Series 123)

Born in the worst suburb in Pittsburgh, Elaine Brogan is bright, beautiful and bold. When her father is falsely arrested for passing counterfeit $100 bills, Elaine vows to become a Secret Service agent and track down the man responsible. After barely surviving the arduous Secret Service Training Academy in Laurel, Maryland, she is transferred to bleak and blustery Great Falls, Montana. But things do not go as planned, and Elaine soon finds herself betrayed and thrown into an adventure that takes her halfway around the world, from dark and mysterious Sofia, Bulgaria, to Moscow Russia, and finally, to Milan, Italy. In the end, will Elaine find the love and happiness she truly seeks…or will she turn to a life of obscene wealth, power and corruption?

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry: A Novel

Contemporary Fiction > Literary
Author: Gabrielle Zevin
Regularly $7.99, Today $1.99

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry: A Novel

A. J. Fikry’s life is not at all what he expected it to be. He lives alone, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and now his prized possession, a rare collection of Poe poems, has been stolen. But when a mysterious package appears at the bookstore, its unexpected arrival gives Fikry the chance to make his life over–and see everything anew.

“This novel has humor, romance, a touch of suspense, but most of all love–love of books and bookish people and, really, all of humanity in its imperfect glory.” —Eowyn Ivey, author of The Snow Child

Infectious: How to Connect Deeply and Unleash the Energetic Leader Within

 Business & Money > Skills > Communications
Author: Achim Nowak
Regularly $24.99, Today $1.99

Infectious: How to Connect Deeply and Unleash the Energetic Leader Within

Technology has transformed the way we communicate. We send and receive more and more emails every day. We text. We tweet. We have reduced our communications down to efficient sound bites—and at the same time, many of us seem to know less and less about how to connect. Deeply, profoundly connect.

In Infectious, acclaimed performance coach Achim Nowak introduces the reader to his powerful four Levels of Connection. Tested and honed through fifteen years of coaching senior-level executives around the globe, Nowak’s techniques instantly transform the skills taught in traditional business communication and NLP programs.

Capital: A Novel

 Contemporary Fiction > Literary
Author: John Lanchester
Regularly $15.95, Today $1.99

Capital: A Novel
Each house on Pepys Road, an ordinary street in London, has seen its fair share of first steps and last breaths, and plenty of laughter in between. But each of the street’s residents—a rich banker and his shopaholic wife, a soccer prodigy from Senegal, Pakistani shop owners, a dying old woman and her graffiti-artist son—is receiving a menacing postcard with a simple message: “We Want What You Have.” Who is behind this? What do they really want? In Capital, John Lanchester (“an elegant and wonderfully witty writer”—New York Times) delivers a warm and compassionate novel that captures the anxieties of our time—property values going up, fortunes going down, a potential terrorist around every corner—with an unforgettable cast of characters.

The House Mate

 Romantic Comedy
Author: Kendall Ryan
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.59

The House Mate

Max Alexander is nearing thirty-five. He’s built a successful company, and he’s conquered the professional world, but he’s never been lucky in love. Focusing so much time on his business and raising his daughter, adulting has come at the expense of his personal life.

His social skills are shit, his patience is shot, and at times, his temper runs hot.

The last thing he has time for is the recently single, too gorgeous for her own good young woman he hires to take care of his little girl. She’s a distraction he doesn’t need, and besides, there’s no way she’d be interested. But you know what they say about assumptions?

The Cosy Teashop in the Castle: The bestselling feel-good rom com of the year

  Romantic Comedy
Author: Caroline Roberts
Regularly $1.99, Today $0.99

The Cosy Teashop in the Castle: The bestselling feel-good rom com of the year

‘Cakes, castles and oodles of charm: this book is huge fun and pure escapism’ Cathy Bramley

Can Ellie bake her way to a happy ever after? A deliciously heartwarming novel for fans of Lucy Diamond and Milly Johnson.

When Ellie Hall lands her dream job running the little teashop in the beautiful but crumbling Claverham Castle, it’s the perfect escape from her humdrum job in the city. Life is definitely on the rise as Ellie replaces spreadsheets for scones, and continues her Nanna’s brilliant baking legacy.

When Lord Henry, the stick-in-the-mud owner, threatens to burst her baking bubble with his old-fashioned ways, Ellie wonders if she might have bitten off more than she can chew.

Abduction: A Thrilling Romantic Suspense (Killer Instinct)

 Romance > Mystery & Suspense
Author: Cynthia Eden
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99

Abduction: A Thrilling Romantic Suspense (Killer Instinct)

Once the town troublemaker, Sheriff Hayden Black became the teen hero who saved young Jillian West from a savage kidnapper. He never got over their brief affair. Now the ex-SEAL and the burned-out FBI agent have reunited in their Florida hometown and rediscovered their powerful attraction. But as they hunt down a long-forgotten killer, will they get a second chance at happiness? When a series of accidents begins to plague Jill, Hayden won’t let her fall victim again. There’s too much history between them…and too much desire.

As Good As It Gets?

 Romantic Comedy
Author: Fiona Gibson
Regularly $3.99, Today $1.99

As Good As It Gets?

“Midlife crisis? WHAT midlife crisis?!”

Charlotte Bristow is worried about her husband Will. With her 16-year-old daughter Rosie newly signed to a top modelling agency, and Will recently out of a job, things are changing in their household.

As Will dusts down his old leather trousers and starts partying with their new, fun neighbours, Charlotte begins to wonder what on earth is going on.

So when Fraser, Charlotte’s ex – and father of Rosie – suddenly arrives back on the scene, she starts to imagine what might have been…

… See the rest of today’s Book Picks here on page 2Page 2

Subscribe to our daily free book picks.

Subscribe to our e-mail newsletter to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply