Free Kindle book Editor’s Picks: Ted Dekker edition

Bestselling thriller author Ted Dekker tops today’s Buffet with Identity, Book 1 of his “Eyes Wide Open” series. This series is constructed much like a four-part TV mini-series, with Identity (fairly short at 52 pages) functioning as the pilot episode.

tedTed is best known for stories which could be broadly described as suspense thrillers with major twists and unforgettable characters, though he is also well known among fantasy readers.

Ted was born to missionaries who lived among the headhunter tribes of Indonesia. Because his parents’ work often included extended periods of time away from home, Ted describes his early life as both fascinating and lonely. This unique upbringing forced him to rely on his own imagination to create a world in which he belonged.

In the early 1990s while visiting a friend who had just written a book, Ted decided to pursue his long-held desire to be a novelist. Today his novels have sold more 5 million copies, and two of them, Thr3e and House, have been made into movies. Ted resides in Austin, Texas, with his wife Lee Ann and two of their daughters.

As usual, each book listed here has gone FREE within the past 24 hours, except for the Bargain books in the yellow section below. Warning: Kindle book promotions can end without notice, so before downloading click the link “See Kindle price at Amazon” to verify that the book is still free. (Prices and availability may differ outside USA.)

Identity (Eyes Wide Open, Book 1)

Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
Author: Ted Dekker
Identity (Eyes Wide Open, Book 1)

Who am I? 

My name is Christy Snow. I’m seventeen and I’m about to die.

I’m buried in a coffin under tons of concrete. No one knows where I am. My heart sounds like a monster with clobber feet, running straight toward me. I’m lying on my back, soaked with sweat from the hair on my head to the soles of my feet. My hands and feet won’t stop shaking.

Some will say that I m not really here. Some will say I’m delusional. Some will say that I don t even exist. But who are they? I’m the one buried in a grave.

My name is Christy Snow. I’m seventeen. I’m about to die.

So who are you? 

In a return to the kind of storytelling that made Black, Showdown and Three unforgettable, Ted Dekker drags that question into the light with this modern day parable about how we see ourselves.

Humming with intensity and blindsided twists, Eyes Wide Open is raw adrenaline from the first page to the last pure escapism packed with inescapable truth. Not all is as it seems. Or is it? Strap yourself in for the ride of your life. Literally.



space

Firefly Beach

Mystery > Women Sleuths
Author: Meira Pentermann
Firefly Beach

When Beth LaMonte rents a cottage on the coast of Maine, she wishes only to withdraw and paint. A mysterious ball of light disturbs her peace and leads her to a secret beach where she finds the diary of a girl who disappeared in 1975. Now Beth is on a mission, not only to bury her own past, but to put to rest the spirit of Firefly Beach.

The Old Man and the Wasteland

Science Fiction > Post-Apocalyptic
Author: Nick Cole
The Old Man and the Wasteland: Updated Edition (Revised)

Part Hemingway, part Cormac McCarthy’s The Road, a suspenseful odyssey into the dark heart of the post-apocalyptic American Southwest.

Forty years after the destruction of civilization, human beings are reduced to salvaging the ruins of a broken world. One survivor’s most prized possession is Hemingway’s classic The Old Man and the Sea. With the words of the novel echoing across the wasteland, a living victim of the Nuclear Holocaust journeys into the unknown to break a curse.

What follows is an incredible tale of grit and endurance. A lone traveler must survive the desert wilderness and mankind gone savage to discover the truth of Hemingway’s classic tale of man versus nature.

Home for the Holidays

Christian Fiction > Romance
Author: Christine Lynxwiler
Home for the Holidays

A heartwarming Christmas novella about true friendship, helping those in need, and falling in love. . .

What’s a girl to do when she falls in love with her lifelong best friend? Small town librarian Lauren Forrester moves to St. Louis so that handsome contractor Jeffrey Warren can find a wife without having to deal with Lauren’s moods. But when Jeffrey shows up on her doorstep to convince her to come home for a country Christmas, will the hardheaded pair lose their friendship or find something even more precious?

Dark Days: The Long Road Home

Science Fiction > Post-Apocalyptic
Author: L M May
Dark Days: The Long Road Home, a post apocalyptic novel

Gemma thought she’d seen the last of Christopher Daley. She was wrong. When she ends up trapped in the city after an event that devastates society, Gemma has to trust the man who broke her heart as they set out on the long journey back home in a world that will never be the same again.

This Shattered Land (Surviving the Dead)

Genre Fiction > Horror
Author: James Cook
This Shattered Land (Surviving the Dead)

Eric Riordan doesn’t look for trouble, but trouble has a way of finding him.

Two years have passed since the Outbreak. Eric has survived by fleeing to the Appalachian Mountains and joining forces with Gabriel, a scarred war veteran and his oldest friend. But with supplies running low and enemies gathering, the two survivors are forced to leave their home and journey west to Colorado.

Along the way they will find unexpected allies, reunite with old friends, and make deadly new enemies. As difficult as life has been, the most dangerous times lie ahead.

Nothing is easy at the end of the world.

The Eye of Adoption

Parenting & Relationships > Adoption
Author: Jody Cantrell Dyer
The Eye of Adoption

Author Jody Cantrell Dyer’s candor, wit, humor, and soul color each page of The Eye of Adoption. She directly addresses the sorrows of infertility and the demands of adoption while consistently word-weaving a life rope of assurance and optimism for her readers.

A middle-aged wife, mother, and teacher, Dyer “tells it like it is” in hopes that waiting adoptive parents, birthparents, adoptees, and those close to them will find kinship through her story.

TODAY’S BARGAINS……………What’s this?

The Universe Versus Alex Woods

Genre Fiction > Coming of Age
Author: Gavin Extence
Regularly $9.99, Today $2.99
The Universe Versus Alex Woods

A rare meteorite struck Alex Woods when he was ten years old, leaving scars and marking him for an extraordinary future. The son of a fortune teller, bookish, and an easy target for bullies, Alex hasn’t had the easiest childhood.

But when he meets curmudgeonly widower Mr. Peterson, he finds an unlikely friend. Someone who teaches him that that you only get one shot at life. That you have to make it count.

So when, aged seventeen, Alex is stopped at customs with 113 grams of marijuana, an urn full of ashes on the front seat, and an entire nation in uproar, he’s fairly sure he’s done the right thing …

Introducing a bright young voice destined to charm the world, The Universe Versus Alex Woods is a celebration of curious incidents, astronomy and astrology, the works of Kurt Vonnegut and the unexpected connections that form our world.

Promise Me Heaven

Historical Romance > Regency
Author: Connie Brockway
Regularly $9.99, Today $1.99
Promise Me Heaven

Lady Catherine “Cat” Sinclair will do whatever necessary to save her family from financial ruin—including marrying the ton’s most eligible bachelor for money. Lacking the skills to seduce the rich lord, Cat seeks out a legendary rake to school her in the art of desire. But when she finally tracks down Thomas Montrose—now retired—she dismisses him as “over the hill.”

Once a rake of mythic notoriety, Thomas is happy to forget his dissolute past and tend his country estate, until, that is, his peace is disrupted by a charming and infuriatingly dismissive miss. While he may no longer seduce women, he has certainly not forgotten how to make them surrender to his charms…and he’s only too happy to prove Cat wrong. So the master seducer promises to teach her his scandalous secrets

But Thomas never dreams his beautiful student could send him to the edge of temptation…or that witnessing her dazzle every lord who crosses her path would make him insanely jealous. Now he must act quickly—and overcome the secrets of his past—before he loses forever the woman to whom he’s already lost his heart.

The Burning Sky (The Elemental Trilogy)

Teen & Young Adult > Science Fiction & Fantasy
Author: Sherry Thomas
Regularly $9.99, Today $1.99
The Burning Sky (The Elemental Trilogy)

Magic, romance, and intrigue combine in The Burning Sky, the first book in the Elemental Trilogy, for fans of Cinda Williams Chima and Kristin Cashore.

It all began with a ruined elixir and a bolt of lightning.

Iolanthe Seabourne is the greatest elemental mage of her generation—or so she’s been told. The one prophesied for years to be the savior of the Realm. It is her duty and destiny to face and defeat the Bane, the most powerful tyrant and mage the world has ever known. This would be a suicide task for anyone, let alone a reluctant sixteen-year-old girl with no training.

Guided by his mother’s visions and committed to avenging his family, Prince Titus has sworn to protect Iolanthe even as he prepares her for their battle with the Bane. But he makes the terrifying mistake of falling in love with the girl who should have been only a means to an end. Now, with the servants of the tyrant closing in, Titus must choose between his mission—and her life.

The Silver Dream: An InterWorld Novel

Teen & Young Adult > Science Fiction & Fantasy
Author: Neil Gaiman, Michael Reaves, Mallory Reaves
Regular Price $9.99, Today $2.99
The Silver Dream: An InterWorld Novel

New York Times bestselling authors Neil Gaiman and Michael Reaves deliver a thrilling sequel to the science fiction novel InterWorld, full of riveting interdimensional battles and alternate realities.

After mastering the ability to walk between dimensions, Joey Harker and his fellow InterWorld freedom fighters are now on a mission to maintain peace between the rival powers of magic and science who seek to control all worlds.

When a stranger named Acacia somehow follows Joey back to InterWorld’s base, things get complicated. No one knows who she is or where she’s from—or how she knows so much about InterWorld.

The Memory of Earth (Homecoming Saga)

Science Fiction & Fantasy
Author: Orson Scott Card
Regular Price $8.99, Today $2.99
The Memory of Earth (Homecoming Saga)

High above the planet Harmony, the Oversoul watches. Its task, programmed so many millennia ago, is to guard the human settlement on this planet–to protect this fragile remnant of Earth from all threats. To protect them, most of all, from themselves.

The Oversoul has done its job well. There is no war on Harmony. There are no weapons of mass destruction. There is no technology that could lead to weapons of war. By control of the data banks, and subtle interference in the very thoughts of the people, the artificial intelligence has fulfilled its mission.

But now there is a problem. In orbit, the Oversoul realizes that it has lost access to some of its memory banks, and some of its power systems are failing. And on the planet, men are beginning to think about power, wealth, and conquest.
At the publisher’s request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.

… See the rest of today’s Editor’s Picks here on page 2

PAGE 2


Subscribe to our daily free book picks.

Subscribe to our e-mail newsletter to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Current day month ye@r *